Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Welcome to the Flute Page

3 older transverse flutes

For more information, please see the​ Department of Music home page.

Databases

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Streaming audio database.
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
streaming audio database.

Websites

Larry Krantz Flute Pages

One of the largest websites on and about the flute with lots of helpful information from biographies of performers and composers of the flute to helpful informative pages on playing or teaching the flute.

[More details]
Flute World

An online store to buy flute music, recordings, accessories and instruments.

[More details]
Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection

This online presentation includes images of over 1,500 instruments, 33 photographs and other illustrations, and a 17th-century flageolet tutor from the Miller Flute Collection of almost 1,700 flutes and other wind instruments, statuary, iconography, books, music, trade catalogs, tutors, patents, and other materials closely related to the flute.

[More details]
National Flute Association

The National Flute Association, founded in 1972, is the largest flute organization in the world. Approximately 5,000 members from more than 50 countries join together in person, online, at conventions, informally and in forums, through publications and classrooms, in performance, in friendship and collegiality.

[More details]
Flute talk online

Even without a subscription, features viewable on the website contain information on auditions, events, masterclasses, competitions and festivals.

[More details]
Flute Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for flute repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for flute related sources.

[More details]
Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for flute repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for flute related sources.

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

If you wish to schedule research help, please feel free to email me or book a consultation here. Beth Thompson bookings.

Using the Library Catalog

Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing:

M60-M64 Flute alone
M240-M244 Flute with piano accompaniment
M288-M289 Duets-- with another wind instrument
M290-M291 Duets-- with a string instrument
M296-M297 Duets-- flute with guitar, harp
M957, M1470 Flute ensembles
M1020 Concertos with orchestra
M1021 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1120 Concertos with string orchestra
M1121 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML128 .F7 Flute bibliographies
ML935-937 Books about the flute
MT342-MT345 Studies and methods for flute
MT346 Orchestral excerpts

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.