This guide contains some places you might go for your research project for this class. For additional help, feel free to email me or book an appointment (https://lib.uncw.edu/crowes-book) to discuss some strategies for your research.

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2020
Course number: 
HST 414/554
Instructor: 
Mollenauer, Lynn

Starting Point

Bloomsbury Food Library

Bloomsbury Food Library reflects the interdisciplinary nature of food studies, making it an essential resource for students and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. It offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

[More details]

Finding Books

To find books on your research topic, use the library catalog (for books in Randall Library) or WorldCat (for books worldwide that you can borrow via interlibrarian loan).

WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]
Library Catalog

Randall Library's online catalog. Search for books, journals, dvds, cds, government documents and many other resources held by Randall Library.

[More details]

Finding Secondary Source Articles

These will be most useful for finding secondary source articles to support your argument.

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

Primary Source Collections and Databases

Aaron Thomas: The Caribbean Journal of a Royal Navy Seaman

Journal writings of British seaman Aaron Thomas serving aboard a Royal Navy ship in the West Indies during the French Revolutionary Wars. Journal dated June 15, 1798 - October 26, 1799.

[More details]
British Library Newspapers

A comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism

[More details]
Colonial State Papers

The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

[More details]
A Colony in Crisis: The Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage of 1789

Website providing online access to both the French and original English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789.

[More details]
Cookbook and Home Economics Collection

The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library.

[More details]
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Access includes Thomason Tracts and Early English Books Tract Supplement.

[More details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

[More details]
Encyclopedia of Diderot and D'Alembert Collaborative Translation Project

An ongoing project to translate articles from this important work of the French Enlightenment.

[More details]
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

European Views of the Americas is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

[More details]
Grewe Food and Gastronomy Collection (University of Barcelona)

The Grewe digital collection is a selection of 50 books on food and cooking from the sixteenth century to 1820. 

[More details]
HathiTrust Food Studies Collection

Collection of primary source documents on food studies.

[More details]
Internet History Sourcebook: The Early Modern World

Selected sources and links to sources on the history of the early modern world.

[More details]
London Lives 1690-1800

London Lives makes available, in a fully digitized and searchable form, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London. 

[More details]
Making Of The Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

[More details]
The Merchant Fleet of Late Medieval and Tudor England, 1400–1580

This website contains the details of English, Welsh, and Channel Islands merchant ships, and the voyages they undertook, between 1400 and 1580.

[More details]
Papers of Sir Joseph Banks

The collection amounts to approximately 10,000 manuscript pages and includes correspondence, principally letters received, but also reports, invoices and accounts, journals, plus a small quantity of maps, charts and watercolors.

[More details]
Sloane Letters Project

The correspondence of Sir Hans Sloane (1660-1753) consists of thirty-eight volumes held at the British Library, London. The letters are a rich source of information about topics such as scientific discourse, collections of antiquities, curiosities and books, patients’ illnesses, medical treatments and family history. 

[More details]
Sugar and the Visual Imagination in the Atlantic World, circa 1600-1860

Sugarcane and its products were imaged in many ways in the early modern period, but least often as the white crystals that we commonly associate with the sweetener.  The cane itself was frequently depicted in a variety of contexts, didactic, symbolic, and aesthetic; it can be found on title pages of travel literature, in satiric prints and children’s books.  Molasses and rum made their way into visual representation less frequently, although here we see how rum came to signify in both pro- and anti-slavery imagery. Exhibit from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University.

[More details]
Wellcome Library Recipe Books

Explore medicinal and culinary recipes through the ages with this collection of 16th-19th century domestic recipe manuscripts.

[More details]

History Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED