NOT PUBLISHED

Finding Films in French

Searching for films in foreign languages from the Randall Library collections can be tricky.  Watch this tutorial on "How to Find Foreign Language Films" for suggestions.

Primary Sources

ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
Europeana

Contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.

[More details]
Gallica

A digital library coordinated by the Bibliotheque Nationale de France covering French literature, history, culture, and the sciences from the Middle Ages onward.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Language Learning Tools

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language learning resource which includes a variety of resources to help students learn practical conversation skills for languages spoken all around the world. Lessons include strategically placed memory-building exercises to help users remember what they are learning in addition to critical thinking exercises, which help them to intuitively understand the language and adapt it to similar conversations. Follow the link to create an account with Mango to get started.

[More details]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

An essential database for foreign languages and literatures, the innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Global Issues (Gale in Context)

Gale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.

[More details]

International Newspapers

Access World News

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily.

[More details]
Global Breaking Newswires

In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe.

[More details]
International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
This is a multidisciplinary database with various kinds of resources, but it also contains many newspapers including Le Monde.

Useful Websites

ARTFL

Consists of over 3000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.

[More details]
Bibliothèque Nationale de France (National Library of France)

Available in French and English, this website provides the searchable catalog for the French National Library.  Internal links include Cultural Events, the Library, Collections, the Digital Library, Practical Information, the BnF Catalogues Services and Virtual Exhibitions. 

[More details]
Cairn.info

Online French social sciences and humanities journal.

[More details]
HathiTrust

Partnership of major research institutions and libraries that is a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

[More details]
Persée

This website, created by the Ministry of National Education of France, is a digital library of open access, mostly French-language, scholarly journals.  There are about 600,000 humanities and social science documents available for free.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Music, Philosophy and Religion, Theatre, Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED