Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Genealogy can be a consuming, lifetime hobby. There is no "easy" way to get back to the Mayflower. The deeper you go into it, the more leads there are to follow. This guide is just a starting place, for certainly resources, especially Web sites, appear daily.

Websites

CastleGarden.org

Free searchable database of 10 million immigrants who arrived at Castle Garden (NY), 1830- 1892, the year Ellis Island opened.

[More details]
Cyndi's List

A good beginning point, both for "how to" and websites of genealogical information. Be sure to look at the "Are you new to Genealogy" page.

[More details]
Ellis Island

Free registration allows you to search passenger lists for the 22 million people arriving at Ellis Island, 1892-1924.

[More details]
Family Search

Genealogy website for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. "How do I get started" is a great link for an overview of the research process.

[More details]
Family Tree Searcher

Provides a metasearch of genealogy sites using detailed data on your ancestor.

[More details]
Find A Grave

Find the graves of millions of people. records contain information from gravesites with many including photos of tombstones. Can link to other family member graves. Information is uplaoded by volunteers.

[More details]
Genealogy: Advice for Effective Searches

Leads you through a variety of questions to provide appropriate specific advice.

[More details]
Genealogy.org

Part of MyFamily, Inc., who also produce the subscription service Ancestry.com. Some information is provided free of charge and it provides links to the most popular Genealogy.org member websites.

[More details]
North Carolina State Library - Genealogical Services

North Carolina State Library in Raleigh has a genealogy library with many excellent resources. The Archives Search Room is located in the same building

[More details]
North Carolina Family Records Online

North Carolina Family Records Online digital collection currently contains nearly 220 family Bible records (lists of birth, marriage, and death information typically written inside of North Carolina family Bibles) from the State Archives, and the six-volume Marriage and Death Notices from Raleigh Register and North Carolina State Gazette: 1799-1893, an 1,100-page compendium of marriage announcements and obituaries.

[More details]

Databases

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a collection of over two million archival material descriptions, providing access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid.

[More details]
HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest presents a varied and in-depth set of data for genealogists and historians. Includes data from all of the U.S. Censuses until 1940, an index of 6,500 local history and genealogy periodicals (PERSI), a database of Revolutionary War pension and bounty-land warrant, plus the full text of 25,000 local histories and family histories.

[More details]

Using the Library Catalog

This library has a good amount of information in printed and microfilmed sources. Our concentration is mostly the Southeastern North Carolina region, Our focus is: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, and Sampson Counties. The collection also contains some resources from other North Carolina areas, and other states.

Search the library catalog under the Subject "Genealogy" or "United States Genealogy Handbooks" for how-to guides. Several of the titles found are e-books (indicated by the logo of NetLibrary). UNCW students, faculty and staff may access these books from off-campus by first setting up a registration from an on-campus PC. Other North Carolina residents can contact their local public library for access information.

Search the catalog, looking for the following subject subheadings:

Type of Record Subject subheadings
Birth Registers of birth;
Birth certificates
Marriage Marriage records
Divorce Divorce records
Death Cemeteries;
Death--Proof and certification;
Death notices;
Obituaries;
Statistics, Vital;
Other Church/Temple Records Church records and registers
Wills & Probate Wills;
Probate records
Deeds & Land grants Deeds;
Land grants;
Land titles
Taxes Tax assessment;
Taxation
Other Court Records Court records;
Bankruptcy;
Collecting of accounts;
Executors and administrators;
Guardian and ward;
Voting registers
Immigration Emigration and immigration; Passenger lists;
Naturalization Naturalization records
Slave African Americans--[state]--[county]--Genealogy;
Slave records;
Slaves--[state]--[county]
Military Military discharge;
Muster rolls;
Registers, lists, etc.;
Veterans

 

Browse both the Reference and General Collections in these call numbers:

Call Number Subject
CS Genealogy
F251 - F259 North Carolina
F262.B45 Bladen County
F262.B9 Brunswick County
F262.C6 Columbus County
F262.D77 Duplin County
F262.N5 New Hanover County
 F262.O5  Onslow County
 F262.P37  Pender County
 F262.S3  Sampson County
 HA557  Census Records

Contact Librarian

Jerry
Parnell
Coordinator Library Special Collections
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042K

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED