Gerontology

Sources for Statistics and Data

The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics: Aging Stats

Resource providing aging statistics in the U.S. The agency works to widen informational access, foster communication between data collectors, researchers, and policy makers, as well as investigate issues of data quality, and dissemination of data.

[More details]
Aging and Disability in America - Data and Research

A collection of data and research projects funded by the ACL which address in aging populations topics such as indicators of well-being, aging minority groups, census reports, and publications from the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitative Research (NIDILRR).

[More details]
CDC - Older Persons' Health

Statical data on aging populations in the U.S. Data covers topics such as smoking, obesity, mortality, and leading causes of death. Information provided by the NCHS division of the CDC. Access available for statistics on other age groups.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]
Research at Health and Human Services Operating Divisions

Tools and data from the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions for scientists, researchers, and the general public.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Resources for Help with the Research Process

HaPI

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior/ human resources. Content in HaPI is based on published studies from peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.

[More details]
APA PsycTests

APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Research instruments are available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements are available in more than 40 languages. Coverage spans more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.

[More details]
Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.  Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]

Recommended Article Databases

Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

[More details]
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

[More details]
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
A collection of full text nursing & allied health journals. Full text for more than 770 journals dating back to 1937.
Oxford Journals

Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

[More details]
Full-text articles and abstracts from various journals, including The Gerontologist and Age and Ageing.

More Helpful Databases

APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]

Struggling to Write a Literature Review?

SAGE Research Methods: Reviewing the Literature

The literature review is an important part of every research project. This guide takes you through the literature review process, explaining the reasons for reviewing the literature and differentiation between the types of literature available.

[More details]
AGS Guidelines and Recommendations

American Geriatrics Society (AGS) links to clinical guidelines and recommendations, educational and clinical tools, and the practice management toolkit.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053