Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
HST 495/595
Instructor: 
Spaulding, Mark

Article Databases

These databases also contain other secondary sources, such as thesis's, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more

America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
indexes 1,700 academic journals published since 1910. Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
indexes 2,300 academic journal articles published since 1955. Covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) since 1450.
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Contains electronic resources for the study and teaching of Medieval and Renaissance studies.

[More details]
indexes 1,724 journals published from 1784 to the present. Also indexes essays, monographs, dissertations, etc. Covers the history of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
provides full text for over 1,000 scholarly journals back to the first issue. Typically excludes latest 3-5 years, but may link to another vendor which provides current issues. Includes over 300 history journals.
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
is useful for any legal aspects of trade.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
is an index to scholarly journals, 1907-1984.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
provides full-text scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Recently, Project Muse added books to the content it indexes. Although Randall Library does not subscribe to the book content, you can still search it and request books through Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
is a specialized Google search that broadly searches for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. It also provides information on how often the publication is cited by other publications. Use while you are on-campus for access to Randall Library's full-text resources.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]

Websites

Center for Research Libraries: Digital Collections

Although UNCW is not a member of CRL, some digital books and pamphlets are freely available.

 

[More details]
British History Online

A digital library of primary and secondary sources on the British Isles.

 

[More details]
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]

Get Started

Credo Reference - Global Trade

is a collection of reference articles related to the history of Global Trade.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books! 

Some useful headings for your topic may include:

Commerce -- History
International trade -- History
Mercantile system
Trade routes
[names of trading companies], e.g., East India Company
[product] industry, e.g., Textile industry
[product] trade, e.g., Spice trade

Library Thing: Tag: Microhistory

Microhistories (An "historical study which addresses a specific or localized subject"-OED) often focus on a particular commodity.  This list of books are recommended microhistories.

[More details]

Primary Sources

- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence. 

- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :

  • Archives *
  • Caricatures and cartoons
  • Correspondence *
  • Diaries *
  • Early works to 1800
  • Facsimiles
  • Interviews
  • Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
  • Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
  • Pamphlets
  • Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
  • Photographs
  • Pictorial works
  • Songs and music
  • Sources
  • Speeches, addresses, etc.*
  • Treaties

​​- More suggestions can be found on the  "Primary Sources guide.

Connected Histories: British History Sources, 1500-1900

A joint project of the University of Herftordshire, University of London and University of Sheffield, this growing website provides links to both free and subscription-based digital resources.

 

[More details]
British History Online

A digital library of primary and secondary sources on the British Isles.

 

[More details]
Smithsonian Institution Libraries Trade Literature Collection

"The trade literature collection of the Smithsonian is internationally known as an important source for the history of American business, technology, marketing, consumption, and design... The present collection contains more than 500,000 catalogs, technical manuals, advertising brochures, price lists, company histories and related materials representing more than 30,000 companies. "

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
Contains Treaties & Agreements, Congressional documents, and other legal primary sources. Use Full Text Advanced Search to see more options, including a custom date range search.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1852. Most current 3 years are not available here, but are in Newspaper Source Plus (Ebscohost) and Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (ProQuest).
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Covers 1785-2006 of this London newspaper. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
Indexes approximately 250 popular English-language (primarily US) periodicals from 1890-1984.
ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
Registered users can download individual images from the ARTstor Digital Library so remember to register for a free user account. The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Europeana

Contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.

[More details]
A digital library that contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.
Nineteenth Century Serials Edition

"is a free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers."

[More details]
Full-text access for six British periodicals.
Internet Library of Early Journals

is a "a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford... to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals."

[More details]
British journals of the 18th and 19th centuries.
Making of America (Cornell)

Full-text for 22 journals and 267 books from the 19th century.

[More details]
A digital library of 19th century American books and periodical articles.
Making of America

"is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. "

[More details]
Similar to Making of America at Cornell, but a smaller collection of 19th century American books and journals. Each site has unique materials.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography

"American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography" is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States complied from nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

[More details]
"American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography" is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States complied from nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
Digital Library on American Slavery

The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.

[More details]
The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.
Library of Congress

"is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world."

[More details]
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]
The Digital Public Library of America has online exhibitions, images, texts, and links to other digital collections.

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]
Chat requires JavaScript.

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED