Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
U.S. Statistics The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
LINC

Over 1300 data items from state and federal agencies.  Historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030.  State, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage.  Statistics in these areas:  Population and Housing, Vital Statistics and Health, Social and Human Services, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections, Environment, Recreation, and Resources, Energy and Utilities, Government, Employment and Income, Business and Industry, Agriculture, Transportation.

[More details]
NC Statistics Log Into North Carolina provides data about North Carolina covering population and housing, law enforcement, courts, energy and more.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

FedStats

Statistics from more than 100 agencies available to citizens everywhere.  

[More details]
For U.S. Statistics - FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Triangle Census Research Data Center (TCRDC)

For U.S. and NC Statistics - The Triangle Census Research Data Center (TCRDC) is a partnership between the U.S. Census Bureau and Duke University in cooperation with the University of North Carolina System. Under this partnership, the Census Bureau provides access to unpublished microdata from the Bureau's economic and demographic censuses and surveys via a secure computer laboratory located on the Duke Campus.

[More details]
North Carolina State Data Center

Data about the state of North Carolina.

[More details]
For NC Statistics - The State Data Center is a consortium of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about the state and its component geographic areas. The SDC lead agency is located in the Technology and Data Services Section of OSBM, where it provides extensive resources for retrieving statistical information.

Databases

UNdata

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched an internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

[More details]
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched a new internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

Websites

Bureau of the Census

serves "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

[More details]
American Community Survey (ACS) - U.S. Census Bureau

The ACS is an ongoing survey that provides data every year, giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.  Information from the ACS generates data that help determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.  Includes information about: age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, disabilities, workplace and how one gets there, where one lives and how much one pays for essentials.

[More details]
US Census Bureau- American Fact Finder- New Hanover County

US Census Bureau- American Fact Finder- New Hanover County

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
Department of Commerce

works with businesses, universities, communities, and the Nation’s workers to promote job creation, economic growth, sustainable development, and improved standards of living for Americans.   Includes the International Trade Administration and Export.gov. Includes a section for North Carolina.

[More details]
Department of Housing and Urban Development

HUD's mission is to create strong, sustainable, inclusive communities and quality affordable homes for all.

[More details]
Department of Labor

Department of Labor

[More details]
Department of Transportation

Department of Transportation

[More details]
Department of the Treasury

The Treasury Department is the executive agency responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the financial security of the United States.

[More details]
Federal Reserve System

Federal Reserve System

[More details]
Library of Congress

"is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world."

[More details]
National Archives and Records Administration

News from the National Archives as well as links to guides and finding aids for its collections.  A selection of historical documents and online exhibits is also available.

[More details]
Social Security Administration

The mission of the Social Security Administration is to delivery social security services that meet the changing needs of the public.

[More details]
Centre for Economic Policy Research

Provides free downloadable data sets on a variety of topics. Click on "Data" at the top of the page to see topics and available files.

[More details]
Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)

The CESSDA Catalogue enables users to locate datasets, as well as questions or variables within datasets, stored at CESSDA archives throughout Europe. Data collections include sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data. Among the materials are international and European data such as the European Social Survey, the Eurobarometers, and the International Social Survey Programme.

[More details]
The CESSDA Catalogue enables users to locate datasets, as well as questions or variables within datasets, stored at CESSDA archives throughout Europe. Data collections include sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data. Among the materials are international and European data such as the European Social Survey, the Eurobarometers, and the International Social Survey Programme.
Economic Freedom of the World Data

From the website of the Economic Freedom Network, Economic Freedom of the World, uses 42 distinct pieces of data to measure economic freedom in 141 nations. Downloadable data sets from 1997-2008.

[More details]
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

(Ireland) - In Ireland, the Environmental Protection Agency protects the environment through its licensing, enforcement and monitoring activities.

[More details]
ESRI: The Economic and Social Research Institute

ESRI is one of Europe's leading research centres in the social sciences. Its main focus is research on economic and social change in Ireland in the new global context.

[More details]
European Central Bank Statistics

In compiling statistics, the ECB is assisted by the national central banks, or NCBs. The NCBs (and, in some cases, other national authorities) collect data from credit institutions and other sources in their respective countries and calculate aggregates at the national level, which they send to the ECB. The ECB then compiles the aggregates for the euro area.

[More details]
In compiling statistics, the ECB is assisted by the national central banks, or NCBs. The NCBs (and, in some cases, other national authorities) collect data from credit institutions and other sources in their respective countries and calculate aggregates at the national level, which they send to the ECB. The ECB then compiles the aggregates for the euro area.
European Social Survey

The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven social survey designed to chart and explain the interaction between Europe's changing institutions and the attitudes, beliefs, and behavior patterns of its diverse populations.

[More details]
The European Social Survey (the ESS) is an academically-driven social survey designed to chart and explain the interaction between Europe's changing institutions and the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of its diverse populations.
EuroStat

Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Unio with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

[More details]
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
International Energy Agency (IEA)

With a staff of around 190, mainly energy experts and statisticians from its 28 member countries, the IEA conducts a broad programme of energy research, data compilation, publications and public dissemination of the latest energy policy analysis and recommendations on good practices.

[More details]
With a staff of around 190, mainly energy experts and statisticians from its 28 member countries, the IEA conducts a broad programme of energy research, data compilation, publications and public dissemination of the latest energy policy analysis and recommendations on good practices.
Irish Social Service Data Archive (ISSDA)

The establishment of the Irish Social Science Data Archive (ISSDA), fills a long recognised need in Ireland. ISSDA holds an ever-increasing quantity of machine-readable data from surveys and official statistics (such as the Census) and makes them readily available to users in the academic, public and commercial sectors.

[More details]
OECD StatExtracts

includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

[More details]
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Royal Economic Society: The Economic Journal Datasets

It includes datasets associated with articles published in the Journal. The datasets are supplied by authors where copyright and technical issues permit, and they are made available online here.

[More details]
SHARE - Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe

The Survey of Health, Ageing, and Retirement in Europe (SHARE) is a multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of micro data on health, socioeconomic status and social and family networks of more than 40,000 individuals aged 50 or over.

[More details]
The Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE) is a multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of micro data on health, socio-economic status and social and family networks of more than 40,000 individuals aged 50 or over.
UK Data Archive

The UK Data Archive (UKDA) is a center of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion and is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK.

[More details]
The UK Data Archive (UKDA) is a centre of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion and is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK.
UK National Statistics Publication Hub

The Publication Hub remains the first port of call for all those seeking the latest statistics from government departments in the UK. It is the central website for hosting all first releases of national statistics.

[More details]
The Publication Hub remains the first port of call for all those seeking the latest statistics from government departments in the UK. It is the central website for hosting all first releases of National Statistics.
Center for International Development

This page is a depository for data developed through research at the Center for International Development at Harvard University (CID). Often the data are associated with a research paper, which is also available for downloading. 

[More details]
This page is a depository for data developed through research at the Center for International Development at Harvard University (CID). Often the data are associated with a research paper and, thus, the paper is also available for downloading. CID data sets
Data360

The mission of Data360 is to help people clarify the issues that are of importance to them. Issues can be local, regional, national or international...business, economics, sports, arts, social or environmental. Data360 is taking the rigor of business reporting, combining it with a collaborative approach and building a living website that is like a "wiki for data." At this point, any person or organization can use Data360 for free to collaboratively analyze and report on their key metrics, in a private or public fashion.

[More details]
The mission of Data360 is to help people clarify the issues that are of importance to them. Issues can be local, regional, national or international...business, economics, sports, arts, social or environmental. Data360 is taking the rigor of business reporting, combining it with a collaborative approach and building a living website that is like a "wiki for data." At this point, any person or organization can use Data360 for free to collaboratively analyze and report on their key metrics, in a private or public fashion.
DBPedia

DBpedia is a community effort to extract structured information from Wikipedia and to make this information available on the Web. DBpedia allows you to ask sophisticated queries against Wikipedia, and to link other data sets on the Web to Wikipedia data.

[More details]
Freebase

Freebase is an open database of the world’s information. "Open" means it's built by the community, for the community — anyone can contribute information, create collections of information to share with others, or build applications that use our API. It also means that the database is freely, openly licensed. Freebase already contains millions of facts in dozens of categories spanning people, locations, books, movies, music, companies, science, sports, and more, and is growing daily, thanks to the efforts of a passionate, global user community.

[More details]
HUD USER Data Sets

HUD USER provides researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey and HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

[More details]
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
InfoChimps.org

The site is a community to assemble and interconnect a giant free almanac, with tables on everything you can put in a table—things like a century of hourly weather, every major league baseball game, decades of stock prices, or every US patent filing. Built by data nerds and used by data nerds to house the information you need to power the projects the world needs.

[More details]
Open Secrets

Nonpartisan guide to money's influence on U.S. elections and public policy.

[More details]
From the Center for Responsive Politics tracks money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
Pew Research Center: The Databank

The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press offers free access to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997. The Center's survey data are released six months after the reports are issued and are posted on the web as quickly as possible.

[More details]
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press offers free access (with registration) to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997. The Center's survey data are released six months after the reports are issued and are posted on the web as quickly as possible.
WebEx Economic Data

A collection of links to more data sources for economic data.

[More details]
Wikinvest

Wikinvest wants to make investing easier by creating the world’s best source of investment information and investment tools

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.