Randall Library Home

Randall Library is a selective depository for documents distributed by agencies of the United States Government. The Library has been a selective depository for US government publications since 1965 and currently receives approximately 74% of the items distributed to depository libraries by the Government Printing Office (GPO). The Library serves the UNCW community, Wilmington, and the 7th North Carolina Congressional Districts of the United States House of Representatives. Davis Library at UNC Chapel Hill is the nearest regional depository library. It receives all publications distributed to depository libraries. Students, faculty and staff at UNCW may request documents not available at Randall Library through Interlibrary Loan free of charge.

NOT PUBLISHED

Using the Library Catalog

To identify specific US government documents use the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. US government documents received since 1990 are also listed in Randall Library’s online public access catalog.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word. The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal depository library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information.

[More details]
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Library Catalog

Randall Library's online catalog. Search for books, journals, dvds, cds, government documents and many other resources held by Randall Library.

[More details]
Many paper and pdf versions of government documents can be found in our catalog.
FDsys

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

[More details]
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Databases

American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
Congressional Record

Service provided by GPO Access with the official record of the United States Congress.

[More details]
FDsys

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

[More details]
GPO Monthly Catalog

Consists of records published by the GPO since July 1976. Includes references for documents to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest presents a varied and in-depth set of data for genealogists and historians. Includes data from all of the U.S. Censuses until 1940, an index of 6,500 local history and genealogy periodicals (PERSI), a database of Revolutionary War pension and bounty-land warrant, plus the full text of 25,000 local histories and family histories.

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]

Websites

Federal Agency Directory

The directory is a partnership of Louisiana State University and the Federal Depository Library Program. The directory lists current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual.  Not every level of organization will be indexed here.  If an institution is not represented here, try the parent organization.  This index is for people who know where they want to go, but don't know the URL.

[More details]
Code of Federal Regulations

Published CFR from start of publication in 1938 through 2010. Each Part is available in PDF format. May browse or search database.

[More details]
Official U.S. Executive Branch Websites

Official U.S. Executive Branch Websites

[More details]
White House

Official website for the White House (executive branch of federal government).

[More details]
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

[More details]
Government Web Resources (LOC)

Government Web Resources (LOC)

[More details]
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (ADAMS)

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (ADAMS)

[More details]
Patents and Trademarks

Patents and Trademarks

[More details]
Oyez

The Oyez Project at the University of Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work.

[More details]
Supreme Court

Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court.

[More details]
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
U.S. Senate

Official website for the United States Senate.

[More details]
Library of Congress

"is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world."

[More details]
USA.gov

As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

[More details]
University of Virginia Historical Census Browser

University of Virginia Historical Census Browser

[More details]
National Technical Information Services

National Technical Information Services

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]
FedStats

Statistics from more than 100 agencies available to citizens everywhere.  

[More details]
CenStats

CenStats provides access to several popular Census Bureau databases, including: Building Permits, Census Tract Street Locator, County Business Patterns, International Trade Data, Detailed Occupation by Race, Hispanic Origin and Sex, USA Counties, and 1990 Public Law 94-171 Data.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.