Government Resources for Economic Information

NOT PUBLISHED

Budget of the United States

Budget of the U.S. Government

Infographic on the process of federal budget creation by Congress. Site also links information on data and statistics, elected officials, and historical documents.

[More details]
The President's Budget - Office of Management and Budget

The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) serves the President of the United States in overseeing the implementation of his vision across the Executive Branch. Specifically, OMB’s mission is to assist the President in meeting his policy, budget, management and regulatory objectives and to fulfill the agency’s statutory responsibilities. 

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Economic Education Tools

Econ Ed at the St. Louis Federal Reserve

Resource for students and educators on economics. Their free product, Econ Lowdown, integrates with Canvas by Instructure and Google Classrooom.

[More details]

Economic Census

Using Census Bureau Statisitcs

Census Bureau Economic Surveys are a key source for official statistics companies can use: Monthly and Quarterly are small sample surveys that provide the most TIMELY data available, Annual surveys have larger samples and provide the most up-to-date TREND data available, and Every 5 years, the Economic Census measures all businesses and provides the most COMPREHENSIVE data available.  These surveys set the standard for U.S. economic statistics, and are fueled by the data provided by individual businesses.

[More details]
Economic Census

The Economic Census provides detailed information on employer businesses, including detailed data by industry, geography, and more.  The first data release will be in September 2019.

[More details]
Economic Census by Year

Provides access to Census information by year, from years 1977-2012.

[More details]
Economic Census Library

Online collections of audio, infographics, photos, publications, videos, working papers, etc related to economic Census information.

[More details]

Databases

HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]

Government Agencies

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Resource for national economic data including GDP, foreign trade investments, and industry data.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

Resource for labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity statistics in the United States. Agency historically has used data collection to inform public and private economic practices and policies.

[More details]
GovInfo

Resource provides public access to official publications from the three branches of the U.S. Federal Government.

[More details]
Department of Commerce

Federal department which promotes job creation and economic growth by ensuring fair trade, providing the data necessary to support commerce and constitutional democracy, and fostering innovation by setting standards and conducting foundational research and development.

[More details]
Congress.gov

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.

[More details]

Beth Kaylor

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.