- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Guitar Resource Page
Subject:
Books & Library Materials
Acoustic guitars and other fretted instruments : a photographic history / [text by] George Gruhn & Walter CarterML1015.G9 G76 1993
Beginning with C.F. Martin's development in the 1830s of the American-style guitar, this book takes readers through the evolution of the mandolin, banjo, and guitar.
Mastering the guitar, a comprehensive method for today's guitarist! Technique studies / by William Bay & Mike ChristiansenMT582 .B394 1996
William Bay and Mike Christiansen have collaborated to produce an outstanding comprehensive guitar method addressing all styles of both flatpicking and fingerstyle technique.
Classical guitar music in print / edited by Mijndert JapeML128.G8 J36 1989
Following the "Music-in-Print" tradition, this work attempts to locate and catalog all guitar music in print throughout the world.
The John Craig Stevens collection of guitar musicML128.G8 J63 1996
Blues guitar : the men who made the music : from the pages of Guitar player magazine / edited by Jas ObrechtML399 .B53 1990
This engaging book is not a definitive history of the bittersweet lives of the blues guitar legends, but a collection of profiles and interviews (1974-90) from the pages of Guitar Player magazine.
Guitar people / by Willie G. Moseley ; foreword by Mark FarnerML399 .M67 1997
contains over 60 of Willie Moseley's best interviews from the past several years with the greats of yesterday and today, including legends such as B.B. King, Billy Gibbons, Duane Eddy, and many more.
The electric guitar : a history of an American icon / edited by André MillardML1015.G9 E43 2004
In The Electric Guitar: A History of an American Icon, scholars working in American studies, business history, the history of technology, and musicology come together to explore the electric guitar's importance as an invention and its peculiar place in American culture.
Thorough-bass accompaniment according to Johann David Heinichen, by George J. BuelowMT49 .B84
Information on continuo playing.
The guitar handbook / Ralph DenyerThe most comprehensive resource available for beginning and experienced guitarists alike, whether acoustic or electric.
Electric bass licks / by Jay FriedmanMT582.F74 E54 1979
Classical guitar music : the ultimate collectionM125 .C63 2003
CD-ROM containing printable scanned images of more than 1,100 pages of public-domain music.
Guitar dictionary : 2400 chord positions / by F. ChiericiMT585 .C55 1962
Blues riffs for guitarMT585 .B58 1978
Riffs and patterns in the styles of Freddie King, B.B. King, Chuck Berry and other, by Mark Michaels. Indispensable for the guitarist who needs a repertory of authentic blues phrases for soloing
The New real book : jazz classics, choice standards, pop-fusion classics : created by musicians - for musicians / Chuck Sher, publisher & editor ; Bob Bauer, musical editorM1630.18 .N48 1988
The new standard in jazz fake books since 1988. Endorsed by McCoy Tyner, Ron Carter, Dave Liebman, and many more. Evenly divided between standards, jazz classics and pop-fusion hits, this is the all-purpose book for jazz gigs, weddings, jam sessions, etc.
Welcome to the Guitar Resource Page
Click on these links for more information about the Department of Music or Instrumental Music.
Databases
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Contains over 80 archived journals on music with titles such as 19th-Century Music, Folk Music Journal, Leonardo Music Journal, Music Educator's Journal, Popular Music, Revue de Musicologie and Tempo.
Music Index
Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
[More details]A subject-author index to music periodical literature. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 470 periodicals, book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Geographical and Subject Headings.
Jazz Discography Online (TJD Online)
Covers all categories of jazz and other creative improvised music, including Traditional, Swing, Bop, Modern, Avant-Garde>, Fusion, Third Stream, etc. It covers leaders from A to Z and contains 149,350 sessions, 26,856 leaders and almost 1.7 million musician and tune entries.
[More details]
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
[More details]RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 600,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835
Websites
Guitar Foundation of America
World’s largest multi-national guitar organization. Resource provides access to an archive of scores, books, and manuscripts.
[More details]
Chordbook.com
Provides access to interactive guitar chords, scales, a tuner, and resources for learning the guitar.
[More details]
Piedmont Classic Guitar Society
PCGS was founded in 1981 with the purpose of increasing understanding and enjoyment of the guitar and similar stringed instruments in Winston-Salem, Greensboro, High Point and surrounding areas. The PCGS sponsors guitar performances, master classes and workshops.
This page has links to many other pages relating to playing the acoutic guitar, electric guitar and the bass.
[More details]
Guitar Reference Guide
Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for guitar repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for guitar related sources.
[More details]Journals
Downbeat(Print Journal)
The contemporary music magazine
The Guitar review(Print Journal)
Put out by Society of the Classic Guitar (U.S.)
Living blues(Print Journal)
Published by University of Mississippi. Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Spin(Electronic Journal)
With an emphasis in Rock and Popular Music, This title is available electronically via; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (UNCW)
Jazz Journal(Print Journal)
Jazz Journal is a British jazz magazine established in 1946 by Sinclair Traill (1904- 1981)
Finding Books on the Shelves
M125-M129 Guitar alone
M276-M277 Guitar with piano accompaniment
M282-M283 Works for balalaika, domra etc. with piano
M292-M293 Duets–two plectral instruments
M294-M295 Duets–with one string instrument
M296-M297 Duets–with one wind instrument
M1037.4 Concertos with orchestra
M1137.4 Concertos with string orchestra
ML1015.G9 Guitar, history and criticism
MT580-MT588 Studies and methods
Using the Library Catalog
In the online catalog, the SUBJECT searches below will yield books and music concerning the guitar (this is not a complete list):
Need Help?
Streaming and Audio
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
[More details]Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. CML includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. To learn how to search, view the tutorial below.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.
[More details]Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.
[More details]Videos, DVDs & Music
So easy acoustic guitar. Level 1 / Fred Russell Publishing ; produced and directed by Joe Palombo & John McCarthyMT580 .S632 2005
Acclaimed instructor/guitarist John McCarthy offers a comprehensive beginner's course in the acoustic guitar in a pick-up-and-play video lesson designed to have aspiring guitarists strumming away on the first day.
The genius of Joe Pass / Vestapol ProductionsM1366.P377 G48 2001
This DVD program presents excerpts from 20 years of performances by jazz guitarist Joe Pass. The guitar virtuoso performs some of his best-known compositions, before live audiences large and small, from 1962 to 1982.
John Williams plays Bach [sound recording] : the four lute suites on guitarM128.B12 J64 2006
CD recording of works of Johann Sebastian Bach.
Felicidade [electronic resource] : celebrated solos for classical guitarGuitar music performed by Stephen Robinson. Streaming audio through Classical Music Library.