Health and Applied Human Sciences

Sources for Statistics and Data

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data & Statistics

Data, statistics, and other tools and resources from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

[More details]
OECD Health Data

International Health Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

[More details]
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.

[More details]
Research at Health and Human Services Operating Divisions

Tools and data from the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions for scientists, researchers, and the general public.

[More details]
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Research

Research findings, data and statistical tools, reports and publications from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

[More details]
State Health Facts

Health Data for states compiled by the Kaiser Family Foundation.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Excelsior Online Writing Lab - APA Style

Online citation guide to APA style. Includes 6th and 7th edition material.

[More details]
Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]

Finding Primary References in the Health Sciences - Video

This 12 minute video demonstrates how to find Primary References in the Health Sciences.  https://www.screencast.com/t/MqCxK92r5B

Recommended Article Databases

PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
Health & Medical Collection

Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]
Health and Wellness (Gale)

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]

More Helpful Databases

Family Health Database

Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Public Health Database

ProQuest Public Health also includes current newspaper articles for uncovering timely results on the latest breaking topics pertaining to public health, such as H1N1, disaster preparedness, and obesity. 9,000 full-text dissertations cover important scholarly topics such as Biostatistics, Environmental Health Sciences, Epidemiology, Health Services Administration, International Public Health, Maternal & Child Health, and Occupational Safety & Health.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
HaPI

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior/ human resources. Content in HaPI is based on published studies from peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.

[More details]
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas

Includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures— developed by medically trained medical illustrators and vetted by leading anatomists—covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Related Guides

Click to view the Athletic Training guide

 

 

 

 

 

Click to view the exercise science guide

 

 

 

 

 

click to view the gerontology guide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click to view the healthcare administration guide

 

 

 

 

 

Click to view the Healthful Living & Fitness Education guide

 

 

 

 

 

Click to view the public health guide

 

 

 

 

 

Click to view the guide for Recreation, Sport Leadership, and Tourism Management

 

 

 

 

 

Click to view the guide for recreation therapy

 

 

 

 

 

Click this image to view the respiratory therapy subject guide

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.