Healthcare Administration

Sources for Statistics and Data

Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Research

Research findings, data and statistical tools, reports and publications from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

[More details]
Area Health Resources Files (AHRF)

Data on health facilities, health professions, measures of resource scarcity, health status, economic activity, health training programs, and socioeconomic and environmental characteristics at state and national level.

[More details]
Partners: Health Data, Tools, & Statistics

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.

[More details]
Health Workforce Research and Policy

From the Sheps Center for Health Services Research, this tool features data about North Carolina's health professionals. 

[More details]
OECD Health Data

International Health Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

[More details]
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Corporate Strategy & Business Policy Research Network (POL)

Open access repository for research on how an entity defines their business and how they plan to reach their goals via the areas of change management, diversification strategy and policy, and firm performance enhancement among others. 

[More details]
Corporate Governance Network (CGN)

Repository for scholarship on the study of corporate governance including the organization of family firms to the management of multinational corporations. 

[More details]
Health Economics Network (HEN)

Repository for scholarship at the intersection of economics and health-related issues, examining how scarce resources are allocated to improve health and acquire care.

[More details]
Information Systems & eBusiness Network (ISN)

Open access repository for research into economic values of ICT, design and performance issues of information systems, effects and implications of Internet technologies on business and commerce, as well as behavioral and social methods studies.

[More details]

Recommended Article Databases

PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
Health & Medical Collection

Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]
Health and Wellness (Gale)

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]

Recommended Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
Data-Axle Reference Solutions

Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

[More details]
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

A comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the focus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool. You must accept the WRDS Terms of Use (PDF).

[More details]
Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. The database includes more than 27,000 videos from Harvard Business Publishing, IGI Global, Kiplinger Washington Editors, the Academy of Management and other top providers, as well as more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

NOT PUBLISHED