Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Welcome to the History Page

Start Your Research: Encyclopedias & More

Credo Reference - History

is a collection of reference books related to history. Browse or search for more specific topics.

[More details]
Includes a "mind-map too," useful for developing topics.
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Includes 2 million digitized entries from Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions, Encyclopedias, Essential Quotations and Timelines. Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

[More details]

Other Encylopedia/Reference Databases

CQ Press Library

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

[More details]
CQ Political Reference Suite

An essential database for public and international affairs, CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions integrates many of CQ Press's acclaimed reference titles on government and politics into a user-friendly, electronic format

[More details]
Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

It is a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.

[More details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

57,000+ biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. From the earliest times to the year 2000.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

These databases also include book chapters, conference presentations, and more.

America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Contains electronic resources for the study and teaching of Medieval and Renaissance studies.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]

Even More Article Databases

These databases also include book chapters, conference presentations, and more.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
ClasePeriodica

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Contains bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. 

[More details]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
is one of our largest multidisciplinary databases.
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
is a specialized Google search that broadly searches for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. It also provides information on how often the publication is cited by other publications. Use while you are on-campus for access to Randall Library's full-text resources.
Summon (Advanced Search)

Summon allows you to search for articles from journals to which we subscribe, content from participating databases to which we subscribe, freely available content such as from open access journals or government websites, and books, ebooks, government documents, archival materials, special collection and many other types of items from our library. A simple search of one or two words will return thousands of results; use phrase searching, field searching, and facets to refine your search and return fewer results.

[More details]
is one of our largest multidisciplinary databases. Limit your search to "history & archaeology" under "discipline" (along the left-hand side of the results).

Browse for Books by Call Number

The Library of Congress call number ranges for History are C-F. Click on the links below for more specific subjects.

When you know what call numbers you want to examine, go to the corresponding area of the library to browse for books.

Don't forget to also search our library catalog so you don't miss out on ebooks. Or, search worldcat.org to find books outside of our library collection. 

Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]
Other History Research Guides

is a list of all the research gudes for history. 

[More details]
- More guides created by UNCW librarians on more specific research topics.

Contact Librarian

female-presenting Caucasian looking at the camera, smiling
Tammy
Ivins
Contact for: Theatre, History, & Transfer Students
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2058
Chat requires JavaScript.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

at the University Learning Center, located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]