Randall Library Home

Click on these links for more information about the Department of Music or Instrumental Music.

History of Rock: MUS 118

A study of the musician's styles and movements that were central to the development of rock music from the early 1950s to the present. No previous musical knowledge is required. Satisfies University Studies II: Approaches and Perspectives/Aesthetic, Interpretive, and Literary Perspectives.

Audio/Video Library Resources

CD and DVD liner notes are a great place to find information on an artist, bands, or their work.  We have a number of CDs in our collection.

This page in our catalog (linked below) makes it easier to find CDs based on an album title, artist or band name, year/time period of music, or genre of music.

Find Music & Audiobooks: Search for Music CDs, Browse for Music CDs

KEYWORD search for CD recordings using Rock music. 
KEYWORD search for CD recordings using 1950'S-2010's

CD's are located on the second floor of Randall Library. View map.

We also have a number of DVDs on rock music, rock musicians and rock bands.  To find these, do a SUBJECT search for Rock music then choose LIMIT/SORT SEARCH at the top of the page.  Choose VIDEORECORDING in the Material type menu.  

Article Databases

Rock's Backpages

Rock's Backpages is an archive of content about music and popular culture, a library of primary source, full text articles and audio interviews.

[More details]
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from 1900's through to 2000.
Credo Reference - Performing Arts

Reference ebooks on the performing arts.

[More details]
This is an online full-text library that covers a variety of subjects including music. It offers Wikipedia like entries and includes pictures and sound. It also provides links to a variety of our own paid for resources in our catalog.
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the search box on this page for faster searching.

Online Rock Music Resources

Research Guides on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Library and Archives website.  Many guides provide links to resources on specific artists and bands.

Donald Clarke's Music Box

This site contains a number of resources such as Donald's Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Rise and Fall of Popular Music: A polemical history, All Or Nothing At All:
A Life of Frank Sinatra, and other jazz resources.

[More details]
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame research guides

Research Guides on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Library and Archives website.

[More details]

Music Indexes and Bibliographies

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

[More details]
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently over 600,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music.
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]
A subject-author index to music periodical literature. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

Catalog Subject Searches

Subject search in our catalog for Rock music—United States—History and Criticism.  

Subject Search in our catalog for Popular music—United States—History and Criticism

Subject search in our catalog for Popular music—History and Criticism

Subject search in our catalog for Rock music—History and Criticism

Subject search in our catalog for Rock music—Discographies

Subject search in our catalog for Rock music—Dictionaries

Where to look in the library

While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep this in mind:

     M = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
     ML = books about music history and literature
     MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books)

 

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

If you wish to schedule research help, please feel free to email me or book a consultation here. Beth Thompson bookings.

Audio Subscriptions

Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.

Video Subscriptions

Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.
Docuseek2

Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videso can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.

[More details]
Documentary films of a variety of subjects including music from a variety of genres including folk, jazz, rock and opera.

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2016
Course number: 
MUS 118
Instructor: 
Justin Hoke