History of the Indian Ocean World

This page contains helpful resources related to the history of the Indian Ocean and nearby regions. Other helpful resources may be found in the general subject guide for History. 

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2022
Course number: 
495/595
Instructor: 
Fain, Taylor

Relevant Databases

African Journals Online

African Journals Online (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. 

[More details]
Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
GeoRef

The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations.

[More details]
International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from AD 300-1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

[More details]
Middle East & Africa Database

Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Part of ProQuest Central.

 
[More details]
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives.

[More details]
World Digital Library

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

[More details]

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill

Relevant Research Institutes

Indian Ocean in World History

The site is intended for use by teachers and students in connection with the surveys of world history, geography and cultures that are required by nearly every state's academic standards in social studies. Map pages and primary sources cover the following eras of world history:

[More details]
Indian Ocean World Centre

The Indian Ocean World Center (IOWC) at McGill University is a research initiative and resource base established to promote the study of the history, economy, and cultures of the lands and peoples of the Indian Ocean world (IOW) – from China to Southeast and South Asia, the Middle East and Africa.

[More details]
Council on Foreign Relations

Nonpartisan membership organization whose goal is to improve the knowledge of members, business executives, government officials, educators, and any others who are interested in understanding the United States' place within foreign policy.

[More details]
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Political "think tank" organization dedicated to connecting policy makers with interdisciplinary advisors to foster international peace.

[More details]
The Stimson Center

Founded in the twilight years of the Cold War, the Stimson Center pioneered practical new steps toward stability and security in an uncertain world. Today, as changes in power and technology usher in a challenging new era, Stimson is at the forefront: Engaging new voices, generating innovative ideas and analysis, and building solutions to promote international security, prosperity, and justice.

[More details]
Chatham House - Royal Institute of International Affairs

Chatham House helps people, societies and governments understand and adapt to seismic change.We provided thought leadership on key issues that defined the 20th century. We helped craft the multilateral institutions and mechanisms of global financial stability after the Second World War. We gave African independence leaders a platform throughout decolonization. We were key to Anglo-Soviet track-two diplomacy initiatives. Our research influenced China’s establishment of low-carbon economic zones.

[More details]
Center for Asian Strategic Studies - India

The Centre for Asian Strategic Studies - India (CASS- India) is a Delhi-based privately run independent think-tank that investigates, researches and analyses issues involving military, diplomacy, terrorism, anti-piracy, nuclear issues and strategy concerning India, China, Japan, ASEAN, Australia, Iran, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan, Myanmar, Afghanistan, Central Asian nations, Gulf countries and African nations.

[More details]
Indian Council of World Affairs

The Indian Council of World Affairs was established in 1943 by a group of Indian intellectuals as a think tank. It was registered as a non-official, non-political and non-profit organisation under the Registration of Societies Act 1860. By an Act of Parliament in 2001, the Indian Council of World Affairs has been declared an institution of national importance. The Vice President of India is the ex-officio President of ICWA.

[More details]
Lakshman Kadirgamar Institute of International Relations and Strategic Studies

Mission: To engage in independent research of Sri Lanka’s international relations and strategic interests, and to provide insights and recommendations that advance justice, peace, prosperity, and sustainability.

[More details]
Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies

Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies (BIISS) is a statutory institution established on 25 June, 1978 by the Government of the Peoples Republic of Bangladesh. The Institute was established with aim of the undertaking and promoting research and deliberation on international affairs, security and developmental issues. The Institute is also expected to advance knowledge and understanding of contemporary international and strategic issues in national and regional perspectives.

[More details]
Singapore Institute of International Affairs

Established in 1962, the Singapore Institute of International Affairs (SIIA) is a non-profit and independent think tank committed to producing policy analysis, fostering in-depth dialogues and bridging gaps between policymakers, private sector decision-makers and experts to shape public policy and social responses. Centred around ASEAN focused themes, the institute aims to deliver policy analysis in international affairs and on issues driving environmental sustainability.

[More details]
Institute of Policy Studies - Singapore

The Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) was established in 1988 as an independent think tank to study and generate public policy ideas in Singapore. IPS became an autonomous research centre of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy at the National University of Singapore in 2008. Today, IPS continues to analyse public policy, build bridges between thought leaders, and communicate its findings to a wide audience.

[More details]
Australian Institute of International Affairs

The Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) is an independent, non-profit organisation promoting interest in and understanding of international affairs in Australia.

[More details]
Australian Strategic Policy Institute

ASPI is an independent, non-partisan think tank that produces expert and timely advice for Australian and global leaders. ASPI generates new ideas for policy makers, allowing them to make better-informed decisions. ASPI is one of the most authoritative and widely quoted contributors to public discussion of strategic policy issues in the Indo-Pacific region and a recognised and authoritative Australian voice in international discussion on strategic, national security, cyber, technology and foreign interference issues.

[More details]
Strategic & Defence Studies Centre - Australian National University

The Strategic & Defence Studies Centre (SDSC) is Australia’s largest body of scholars dedicated to the analysis of the use of armed force in its political context. As a leading international research institution specializing in strategy and defence, SDSC has a three-part mission:

[More details]
The South African Institute of International Affairs

The South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA) is an independent public policy think tank advancing a well-governed, peaceful, economically sustainable and globally engaged Africa.

[More details]
African Studies Centre Leiden - Indian Ocean Slave Trade

On the occasion of the exhibition on slavery at the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the ASCL Library has compiled a web dossier on the Indian Ocean slave trade. The dossier consists of selected titles from the ASCL Library Catalogue, extended with sources available through the broader Leiden University Library collection. Titles link to the corresponding record in the online catalogue, which provides additional details and abstracts, where available. The dossier is introduced by Rijksmuseum curator Maria Holtrop and concludes with a selection of links to relevant websites.

[More details]

Relevant Primary Source Collections

U.S. State Department - Foreign Relations of the U.S. Series

Volumes documenting various United States foreign affairs, run by the United States Department of State, Office of the Historian. 

[More details]
National Security Archive at George Washington University

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
British Documents on the End of Empire

www.bdeep.org is the online platform for the British Documents on the End of Empire Project (BDEEP).

[More details]
Documents on British Policy Overseas

A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.

[More details]
British Parliamentary Records Online

The Parliamentary Archives is the official archive of the House of Commons and House of Lords (UK Parliament).

[More details]
CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room

Provides declassified documents requested via the Freedom of Information Act.

[More details]
Cold War International History Project

Collection of governmental documents from multiple countries during the Cold War era.

[More details]
National Archives of India - International Relations

National Archives of India is the nodal agency of Government of India for the implementation of the Public Records Act, 1993 and the Public Records Rules, 1997 made under the Act. The National Archives of India is responsible for not only keeping in safe custody the records of the various Ministries / Departments of the Government of India, but is also engaged in devising suitable mechanism to streamline the management of their records in a systematic manner so that they can be used by administrators and scholars at ease.

[More details]
Parliament of India - Lok Sabha Digital Library

Parliament Digital Library provides information about various parliamentary documents of Lok Sabha, the House of People. The debates of Lok Sabha, from the First Lok Sabha to the Seventeenth Lok Sabha are placed in this portal. The Reports of several Parliamentary Committees, Presidential Addresses to Parliament, Budget Speeches, and several publications of the Lok Sabha Secretariat are also part of its collections.

[More details]
Documents on Australian Foreign Policy - Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Documents on Australian Foreign Policy is a project supported by successive governments since 1971 to document the evolution of Australia's external relations. The content of volumes in the series is scrutinised by a Committee of Final Review comprising the Minister for Foreign Affairs and delegates of the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

[More details]
British National Archives - Foreign Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office Records from 1782

This guide will help you to find records created by the Foreign Office since its birth in 1782, and by its successor, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, and now held at The National Archives.

The records of the Foreign Office provide a wealth of information on British relations with foreign states from 1782 to the present day and can also provide insights into the history of domestic issues in countries around the world.

[More details]
National Archives of India - Abhilekh Patal

Abhilekh Patal is a full-featured web-portal to access the National Archives of India’s reference media and its digitized collections through the internet. It is ‘work-in-progress’ and both the reference media and the digital data will be regularly augmented. The National Archives of India is the repository of the non-current records of the Government of India and is holding them in trust for the use of records creators and general users. It is an Attached Office of the Ministry of Culture, Government of India. 

[More details]

History Librarian

Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2058

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar
 

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.