Summary

This guide identifies collections that highlight film and the film industry, especially with regard to Wilmington area productions. Film has been a distinct part of Southeast North Carolina since production of producer Frank Capra, Jr.’s Firestarter in 1983. Collections represent both film and television, from local companies and avid collectors. Materials include film and television scripts, casting headshots, posters and publicity material, original artwork, and production files, which contain budgets, correspondence, location scouting, script revisions, shooting schedules, and similar documents. 

Streaming Resources

Feature Films for Education

Over 500 feature films available to stream in a variety of genres. 

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
Swank Digital Campus

Streaming video library of over 300 feature films (comedy, drama, romance, documentary, thriller, crime etc.) through Swank. Allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Films can be viewed by unlimited simultaneous users.

Some titles including Disney and very new/popular titles are not findable in the Swank video library online, but you can watch them by clicking the direct watch link available in this spreadsheet:

Swank Disney Title List (XLSX)

[More details]

Manuscript Collections

MS 053 DeVries-Bullock Collection

This collection contains audio-visual materials from the DeVries-Bullock company. Formats include beta, 16mm and 35mm film, as well as other rare formats. Videos contain both raw and completed footage of local interest segments, advertisements and public service annoucements in Wilmington during the 1970s and 1980s. Additionally, there are several notebooks in the collection that provide detailed descriptions of the footage in the collection.

[More details]
MS 152 Lou Buttino Manuscript and Film Collection

This collection contains papers related to Lou Buttino's writing career. These feature his magazine articles, newspaper columns, proposals, and manuscripts, as well as media copies of his video and film work.

[More details]
MS 154 M.W. Godwin Linda Darnell Collection

This collection features M.W. Godwin's gathered material on old Hollywood actress, Linda Darnell. As an avid fan of the actress and her work, Godwin collected related photographs, film scripts, published articles, publicity papers and stills, posters, interviews, studio catalogues, magazine clippings, other collector and dealer correspondence, and all manner of memorabilia, including autographed material, artwork of Darnell, and a corset she once wore.

[More details]
MS 155 M.W. Godwin Film Still Collection

This collection contains still images of Hollywood stars from 1930 - 1960 with many one of a kind images in addition to various reprints and cutouts from books and magazines. There are approximately 9,300 glossy black and white (with some color) 8x10 inch images and 266 glossy color 4x6 images of popular stars. This collection also contains an estimated 40,000 images of both sorted and unsorted movie stars from books and magazines.

[More details]
MS 175 Fincannon & Associates Script Collection

This collection contains material related to the film industry, primarily in Wilmington, North Carolina. Included in this collection are scripts for feature films, television movies and television shows, as well as associated production documents, press release kits, posters, 35mm film trailers and emphemera. The scripts are arranged by filming location and noted as local (Wilmington and surrounding areas) or non-local (all other locations).

[More details]
MS 201 AnimEigo Anime Collection

This collection contains materials from the private Wilmington, North Carolina company, AnimEigo. The AnimEigo Anime Collection includes Japanese animated cels, VHS covers for anime films, and anime film laserdiscs.

[More details]
MS 250 Frank Capra, Jr. Collection

This collection consists of production files related to the Frank Capra, Jr. production of FIRESTARTER (1984), which was filmed locally in Wilmington. The collection has been arranged into three series:

[More details]
MS 252 Craig Rogers Film Script Collection

The Craig Rogers Film Script Collection includes motion picture and television scripts and production documents dating 1993-2006. The collection also includes a 2000 Wilmington Film Commission Production Guide and a copy of the novel, Virus. Rogers was the assistant location manager for several of the films and television shows in the collection, many of which were filmed locally in Southeastern North Carolina.

[More details]
MS 283 Terry Theodore Press Kit Collection

This collection consists of press kits owned by Terry Theodore, professor in the Theatre department at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Kits include printed and digital promotional material for approximately 200 films.

[More details]
MS 292 Frank Shaw Script Collection

The Shaw Collection contains draft and finished scripts and sketches of television shows and films, written or co-written, by Frank Shaw, memos, and correspondence.

[More details]
MS 296 Dave Coley Surfing Memorabilia

This collection contains original handbills and posters promoting surf film screenings in the greater Wilmington area, as well as sales flyers for a local surfobard shop called America Surfboards.

[More details]
MS 334 Karen Swenson Collection

Karen Swenson's book projects focused on Greta Garbo, Barbra Streisand, Deanna Durbin, Liza Minelli, Judy Garland, Marilyn Monroe, Stevie Nicks, and US Gymnasts. Her research material spans items such as personal correspondence, fan mail, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, audio visual material, related books and essays, and manuscript drafts.

[More details]
MS 344 Charles Bombeld Surfing Memorabilia

This collection contains Surf movie mini-window cards, a film program, and a interview print-out of local surfer Bruce Clelland. The collection consists of items relating to early 1960s independent surf films. A period film program and an interview from one of the film's surfers, Bruce Clelland, are preserved here.

It should be noted that Big Wednesday (1961) is not Big Wednesday (1978, Warner Bros.). Both are surf films, but the latter is more well known.

[More details]
MS 345 Joe D'Alessandro Film Script Collection

This collection includes scripts, storyboards, and visual effects breakdowns for films from the career of camera operator and cinematographer Joe D'Alessandro. Many of the scripts are drafts, and some include production schedules at the end of the script. Projects span a wide range of genre, and also range from low-budget independent films to high-production blockbusters. Some notable scripts included in the collection are drafts of The Hudsucker Proxy, My Best Friend's Wedding, The Patriot, and The Blindside.

[More details]
Special Collections Vertical Files

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photographs, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.

[More details]

Oral Histories

To explore more interviews, please search the Oral History Collection.

Interview with Elizabeth White Steelman (Oral History)

Interview with Elizabeth Steelman, Wilmington native and active local community member. Here, Steelman discusses her personal and professional history, including her involvement with the Cucalorus Film Festival and her role in a program bringing Russians to witness U.S. business practices through the Rotary Club.

[More details]
Interview with Clyde Edgerton (Oral History)

Dr. Clyde Edgerton is a professor of Creative Writing at UNCW and the author of several novels, including Redeye, The Floatplane Notebooks, and Walking Across Egypt, and the memoir Solo: My Adventures in the Air. Many of his novels, including Killer Diller and Walking Across Egypt, have been adapted for film, and his novel Lunch at the Piccadilly became a musical production. In this interview, Dr. Edgerton discusses his background and writing life.

[More details]
Interview with Philip Furia (Oral History)

Interview with Dr. Phillip Furia, professor of creative writing at UNCW and author of several books, including Skylark: The Life and Times of Johnny Mercer and The Poets of Tin Pan Alley: A History of America's Great Lyricists.

[More details]
Interview with John W. Golden (Oral History)

Interview with John W. Golden, local artist and graphic designer who has worked for Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Contact Staff

Portrait of Nicole Yatsonsky
Nicole
Yatsonsky
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J