NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Welcome to the Horn Page

For more information, please see the​ Department of Music home page.

Databases

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Streaming audio database
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Streaming audio database
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research.

Websites

International Horn Society

Provides information about horn programs and events, publications with various reference articles, job listings, and marketplaces to buy and sell horns.

[More details]
Horn - Grove Music Online

Article from Oxford Music Online which provides general and historical information on the horn.

[More details]
Horn Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for horn repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for horn related sources.

[More details]
Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for horn repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for horn related sources.

Lisa Coats

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Music, Philosophy and Religion, Theatre, Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Where to look in the library

Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing:

 

M80-M84 Horn alone
M255-M259 Horn with piano accompaniment
M288-M289 Duets—two wind instruments
M290-M291 Duets—wind and string instruments
M1028 Concertos with orchestra
M1029 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1128 Concertos with string orchestra
M1129 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML955 Books about the horn
MT420-MT432 Studies and methods
MT426 Orchestral excerpts

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.