Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Books & Library Materials

The following are print resources for finding ratios or benchmarks. Start with sources that aggregate company ratios and financial data by industry or company size. If that is not possible, gather data from companies and determine the averages.

Websites

Bureau of the Census

serves "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

[More details]
NAICS Search Online

Industrial Classification Codes: All companies are classified by the federal government into categories called industry classifications based on the general product of business line of the company. This categorization system assigns every business an SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code and/or a North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code. The industry classification allow you to compare like companies and industries.Directories may contain one or both of these codes.

[More details]

Starting Points

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products; this source includes industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports, and more.

[More details]
IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]

Ratios

Key Business Ratios

Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

[More details]
NetAdvantage (from S&P Global)

Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.

[More details]

Reports

IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]
Morningstar Investment Research Center

Search this essential business database with over 18,000 stocks and mutual funds to determine where to invest your money. Identify stocks and funds that meet your criteria and read reports prepared by Morningstar. Obtain an analysis of your current portfolio or see how the stocks and funds you select work together to form a balanced portfolio.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Ophelia
Chapman
Business and Communication Studies Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2058

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED