Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Course number: 
CMR 530
Instructor: 
Kleinberg, Remonda

Government Resources

Background Notes

Country reports from the U.S. State Department

[More details]

Starting Points

CQ Press Library

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Voting and Elections Collection, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

[More details]
Statesman's YearBook

The Statesman’s Yearbook is an annual hardback publication covering the politics, cultures and economies of all of the countries of the world plus major international organizations. It is authoritative and up-to-date; meticulously compiled by a dedicated in-house editorial team since 1864.

[More details]
CIA World Factbook

The U.S. Central Intelligence Agency provides country profiles and country comparison data.

[More details]

Databases

Political Science Database

Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. This database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

[More details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, law, public administration / policy, and public and international affairs.

[More details]
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in public and international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Websites

American Society of International Law

The mission of the American Society of International Law is to foster the study of international law and to promote the establishment and maintenance of international relations on the basis of law and justice.

[More details]
EISIL- Electronic Information System for International Law

This website contains a tool created by the American Society of International Law and allows users to access different types of international law.

[More details]
EU law

This website provides access to EU legislation and case-law as well as to information about how EU law is applied by member countries.

[More details]
European Parliament

Official website for the European Parliament

[More details]
GlobaLex (NYU Law)

Globalex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research created by NYU Law. Their international law research page has guides on many topics in international law.

[More details]
Global & Comparative Law Resources (Library of Congress)

The Library of Congress provides a list of Law resources including a global legal monitor, translation of national legislation into English, Islamic Law, and a global legal information catalog.

[More details]
IMF Country Data

comtains country information from the International Monetary Fund.

[More details]
International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.

[More details]
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

Official website for the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

[More details]
ODS (Official Document System of the UN)

ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

[More details]
United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.

[More details]
United Nations Treaty Collection

This online database provides the most detailed information on the status of over 560 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (as of 1 June 2014) and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED