Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
MKT 442
Instructor: 
Scribner

Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
provides links to principle U.S. federal statistical agencies as well as the statistical agencies of most foreign countries. (A word of caution: detailed data on some country web sites is available only in the language native to that country).
Foreign Trade Statistics

FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.

[More details]
from the U.S. Census Bureau.
NationMaster.com

NationMaster is a massive central data source and provides a way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster compiles data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. This web site allows the user to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics. Note the countries tab but main page is also interesting.

[More details]
is a massive central data source and provides a way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster compiles data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. This web site allows the user to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
Countries of the World

Each country profile provides information on topics such as geography, history, government, economy, ethnicity/race, and literacy. A map of each country is also provided.

[More details]
provides information on topics such as geography, history, government, economy, ethnicity/race, and literacy.
OECD Data

includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

[More details]
International Trade and Market Access Data

includes databases, publications and tools from the World Trade organization, with data for trade in merchandise and services, tariffs and non-tariff measures and services regimes.

[More details]

Websites

BBC News Country Profiles

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

[More details]
provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
International Business Etiquette and Manners

Source for international business etiquette, manners, and cross cultural communication.

[More details]
Business Travel Abroad

Tips on business travel etiquette.

[More details]
Tariff and Trade Dataweb

Contains export prospects and market information for various countries and regions.

[More details]
contains export prospects and market information for various countries and regions.
Federation of International Trade Associations

The FITA Global Trade Portal, is the source for international import export trade leads, events, and links to 8,000 international trade (export import) related Websites.

[More details]
includes "Really Useful Sites for International Trade Professionals" along with resources for country, legal, language, international markets and business directories.
Trade Compliance Center

The Office of Trade Agreements Negotiations and Compliance (TANC) helps make trade agreements work for American exporters and investors

[More details]
searches trade agreements.
Doing Business

from the World Bank, provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level. The site offers a wealth of economic information.

[More details]
IMF Country Data

comtains country information from the International Monetary Fund.

[More details]
World Bank Data

provides reliable data about countries of the world.  You can search by country, topic, or indicator.

[More details]
International Monetary Fund Global Data

publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.

[More details]

Starting Points

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
provides information on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
searches news, business, legal and reference information. News sources from around the world are included.
Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more.  Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]
Business Source Elite

This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more

[More details]

Other Databases

Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]
provides domestic and international company information. You can convert financials to any currency and scale. All of the data is downloadable to Excel.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in public and international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 

[More details]
includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
World Development Indicators Online

World Development Indicators Online, published by the World Bank, is a comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.

[More details]
published by the World Bank, is a comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.
ProQuest Asian Business and Reference

ProQuest Asian Business and Reference name has been changed to: Asian & European Business Collection

[More details]
provides detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere, including Asian business and financial information from key international publications.
Proquest European Business

ProQuest Asian Business and Reference name has been changed to: Asian & European Business Collection

[More details]
contains the latest European business and financial information. Includes resources such as The Economist, Fortune and European Business Journal.
US Newsstream

Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
provides access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from throughout the world. The database includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other international, national and regional titles.
Political Science Database

Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. This database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

[More details]
provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Anne Pemberton

Anne
Pemberton
Associate Director, Research and Instructional Services and Library Assessment
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 1043

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Government Resources

Export.gov

Provides access to a wide variety of country, market and industry information resources.

[More details]
provides access to a wide variety of country, market and industry information resources.
International Trade Administration

Provides country information, an tariff and tax information, export resources and industry information.

[More details]
provides country information, an tariff and tax information, export resources and industry information.
Background Notes

Country reports from the U.S. State Department

[More details]
Country Studies/Area Handbooks

Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series. The Country Studies collection presents descriptions and analysis of the "historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of counties throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors." The original series was designed to provide information on lesser known areas of the world. As a result the series is not all-inclusive.

[More details]
presents descriptions and analysis of the "historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of counties throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors."
Survey of Current Business

Full-text monthly periodical contains current and historical economic indicators (GDP, income, consumer price index, production).

[More details]
contains current and historical economic indicators (GDP, income, consumer price index, production).
Bureau of Industry and Security

 is the agency responsible for implementing and enforcing the Export Administration Regulations.

[More details]
U.S. Small Business Administration Office of International Trade

The Office of International Trade's mission is to enhance the ability of small businesses to compete in the global marketplace.

[More details]
enhances the ability of small businesses to compete in the global marketplace.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

is from the U.S. Census Bureau and "is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."

[More details]
is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.