Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Course number: 
PAR 235
Instructor: 
Burgh, Theodore

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Using the Library Catalog

Searching the UNCW Library Catalog will help you find books, commentaries, and references that will be helpful for this course.

You can start with a keyword search for your topic - for example, Isaiah AND prophet. Once you find a book or books that look useful, you can look at the subject headings listed in the book's catalog record to find more materials that might be helpful. Some examples of useful subject headings are:

  • Bible -- Commentaries
  • Bible O.T. -- Commentaries
  • Bible. Joshua -- Criticism and interpretation
  • Bible. Judges -- Commentaries (NOTE: You can do this with any book of the Bible: "Bible. [Book title] -- Commentaries")
  • Bible O.T. -- Minor Prophets -- Commentaries

Recommended Databases

Religion Database

This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection

With the ATLA Historical Monographs Collection (11 Series), religion and theology scholars can focus their research on the era and topics that most closely fit their fields of study. Eleven thematic series provide researchers with specialized content spanning from the 13th century through 1922.

[More details]
Sociology Database

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, religion, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume 1, Christianity

A multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.

[More details]
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume 2, Islam

Focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED