NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
FST 205

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Recommended Databases for FST 205

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film studies. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, screenwriting and reviews.

[More details]
Film Index International

Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.

[More details]
Film International

Film journal that incorporates work from scholars from a variety of disciplines, as well as journalists, freelance writers, activists, and film-makers.

[More details]
JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

Useful Websites

CineFiles

Free-to-access documents including film reviews, interviews, popular and scholarly articles, publicity materials, program notes, book excerpts, pamphlets, filmmakers’ texts and correspondence, and many other rare archival documents dating from the early 1900s to the present. The collection includes about 60,000 scanned documents.

[More details]
Library of African Cinema (California Newsreel)

Films from Africa made by Africans offer restorative images and oftentimes a new film language. The unique films in this collection not only showcase the works of master filmmakers but also innovative new talents who are embracing video technology. To see Africa through African eyes will break stereotypes and enlighten viewers about life in Africa as well as about the issues facing the continent.

[More details]
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Finding Film Reviews for World Cinema

Many databases have filters or ways to limit your searching by date, document type, title of film, etc.  If you need film reviews from a certain time period, look for the date settings in the database and limit it to "reviews".

Access World News

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily.

[More details]
indexes thousands of newspapers from across the world.
International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
has many current news articles, as well as archived articles.
InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Local newspapers from North Carolina are included in this resource.

[More details]
includes both U.S. and world news sources.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
covers primary sources from the 1880 to 2000.
Newspaper Databases

is a complete list of Randall Library newspaper databases.

[More details]
is a full list of all newspaper databases provided by Randall Library
Film Literature Index

Database contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

[More details]
covers 1976-2001, and while it does not have full-text articles, this will help with finding citations for historic articles. Randall Library may carry them in print, or using Interlibrary Loan will be available for those resources not in the collection.

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]