Randall Library Home

This guide provides a variety of resources that might be useful to you as a journalism student. Included are sites for obtaining factual data, statistics, government resources, etc.

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Finding Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

[More details]
National Vital Statistics System

The National Vital Statistics System is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in public health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) collects and disseminates the nation's official vital statistics – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.

[More details]
North Carolina Crime Statistics

The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  While the program’s primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the country’s leading social indicators.  The UCR Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]

Government Resources

American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
American Community Survey (ACS) - U.S. Census Bureau

The ACS is an ongoing survey that provides data every year, giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.  Information from the ACS generates data that help determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.  Includes information about: age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, disabilities, workplace and how one gets there, where one lives and how much one pays for essentials.

[More details]
North Carolina Division of Adult Correction

The Division of Adult Correction is responsible for the care, custody, and supervision of all individuals sentenced after conviction of a felony or serious misdemeanor in North Carolina. Sentences range from probation served in the community to active prison sentences served in one of the state's 66 prison facilities.

[More details]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

[More details]
North Carolina Court System

Website for the North Carolina Court System

[More details]
Nations of the World - Law Library of Congress

Nation-specific legal information from the Law Library of Congress.

[More details]
Federal Digital System (FDsys)

FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.

[More details]
Federal Law. THOMAS

THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress.  The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.

[More details]
United States Department of Labor

Official website for the United States Department of Labor:

[More details]
GovTrack.us

GovTrack.us publishes the status of federal legislation, information about representatives and senators in Congress including voting records, and original research on bills and votes. Contains unique statistical analyses that puts legislative information into perspective. Free non-government site.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

CQ Press Library

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Voting and Elections Collection, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

[More details]
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
iPOLL

The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.

[More details]
SIRS Knowledge Source

A portal to relevant, credible information selected by SIRS editorial staff. Designed to support student research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects. Includes articles, primary sources, websites and graphics. SIRS is comprised of Issues Researcher (covering the leading issues most studied and debated by students), Government Reporter (historic and government gocuments, directories and almanacs), SIRS Renaissance (current perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) and WebSelect (editorially selected web sites). Comparable to Points of View Reference Center.

[More details]
Westlaw Campus Research

A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, detailed company and financial data, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers.

[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

[More details]

Websites

Better Business Bureau (BBB)

BBB is the resource to turn to for objective, unbiased information on businesses.  The BBB monitors and takes action on thousands of business issues affecting consumers.

[More details]
Better Business Bureau Charity Reports

A full alphabetical listing of all charity reports completed by the BBB Wise Giving Alliance.

[More details]
Charity Navigator

Charity Navigator, America’s leading independent charity evaluator, works to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health and accountability and transparency of America’s largest charities.

[More details]
Federal Government Employee Salaries

Enter a name, or select an agency, job title or location to begin your search.  Results will show the adjusted base salary and any merit award from federal fiscal.  On the results page, you may click on a column heading to sort the results.
Employees involved in security work, the FBI, CIA, Defense Department, nuclear materials, IRS, and jobs essential to national security are excluded.  The list contains most executive branch employees but does not cover the White House, Congress, and independent agencies and commissions.

[More details]
Federal Agency Directory

The directory is a partnership of Louisiana State University and the Federal Depository Library Program. The directory lists current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual.  Not every level of organization will be indexed here.  If an institution is not represented here, try the parent organization.  This index is for people who know where they want to go, but don't know the URL.

[More details]
North Carolina Health Info

NC Health Info is an online guide to websites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. Designed to meet the needs and interests of North Carolinians, NC Health Info leads users to resources that are reliable and easy to understand. Links are selected and maintained by North Carolina librarians.

[More details]
Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.  It does not take positions on policy issues.  Its work is carried out by these seven projects:  The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Global Attitudes Project, Social & Demographic Trends.

[More details]
Open Government Guide

The Open Government Guide is a complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws.  Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states.  There is also a separate site for the Federal Open Government Guide: http://www.rcfp.org/federal-open-government-guide

[More details]
Open Secrets

Nonpartisan guide to money's influence on U.S. elections and public policy.

[More details]
Shorenstein's Journalist's Resource

Based at Harvard's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy, the Journalist's Resource project examines news topics through a research lens. They focus on surfacing scholarly materials that may be relevant to other media practitioners, bloggers, educators, students, and general readers.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED