Juneteenth, Emancipation, and "Because It's Time": A Resource Guide

Juneteenth, Emancipation, and "Because It's Time"

Juneteenth marks the anniversary of June 19, 1865, the day that enslaved people in Texas learned they were free. It is commemorated across the United States and is an official state holiday in Texas. In June 2021, a commemorative public art exhibit, entitled "Because It's Time" and created by artist Dare Coulter, was unveiled on UNCW's campus. This guide was created as a companion resource to the art installation.

For more information on Juneteenth, see the source below and other resources from this guide.

 

Juneteenth. (2019). In K. Jones (Ed.), African-American holidays, festivals, and celebrations: the history, customs, and symbols associated with both traditional and contemporary religious and secular events observed by Americans of African descent (2nd ed.). Omnigraphics, Inc. Credo Reference: https://login.liblink.uncw.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ogiahfac/juneteenth/0?institutionId=3329

NOT PUBLISHED

UNCW to Install Public Artwork Representing Black Lives in Wilmington - UNCW News

Dare Coulter - Sculpture Installation

The University of North Carolina Wilmington is working on public artwork to highlight the core belief that Black lives matter. Award-winning sculptor, artist and illustrator Dare Coulter has been commissioned to create the piece.

“The goal of the project is to use art as a tool for social change; to emphasize awareness about race, identity and the Black experience; and to increase awareness of Wilmington’s history of racial violence,” said Fidias Reyes, director of arts engagement in the UNCW Office of the Arts.

The commemorative artwork, called "Because It's Time".

[More details]

Websites

Juneteenth

Juneteenth is a time to celebrate, gather as a family, reflect on the past and look to the future. The National Museum of African American History and Culture invites you to engage in your history and discover ways to celebrate this holiday.

[More details]
Dare Coulter - Artist

Dare Coulter is an award-winning artist, muralist, and sculptor. Her mission for her artwork is primarily to create positive imagery of black people and families. Her most recent notable work includes a 200ft mural (with Kotis Street Art) in Greensboro honoring oft-unmentioned black cowboys and a commission of a painting of Nina Simone from the National Trust for Historic Preservation that was used to raise funds to restore Nina Simone's childhood home. She has illustrated three children's books, including You Are My Sunshine and My N.C.

[More details]
African American Newspapers Series 1

Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.

[More details]
African American Newspapers Series 2

African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, the more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2 significantly increase access to primary sources for researchers across African and African American studies; political science; ethnic studies; diaspora studies; women’s studies; and cultural, literary and social history.

[More details]
African American Newspapers, 19th century

This collection of African American newspapers contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

[More details]
African-American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

[More details]
Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

Features records of NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the black freedom struggle. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]
Civil Rights in Southeast North Carolina: The School, the Market, and the Ballot Box

Digital collection of primary source documents and other resources related to southeastern North Carolina school desegregation, equal employment, equal access to public accommodations, and voting rights.

[More details]
Historical Black Newspapers

This collection of historical black newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Publications include:

  • The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  • Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
  • Michigan Chronicle (1934-2010)
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
  • Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
[More details]
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.