Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Readers' Advisory

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Readers' Advisory Websites

ALA Recommended Reading

A collection of ALA's literature award winners and various notable reading lists.

[More details]
The Children's Book Council - Readers

The Children’s Book Council (CBC) is the nonprofit trade association of children’s book publishers in North America, dedicated to supporting the industry and promoting children’s books and reading.

[More details]
Disability in Kidlit

Disability in Kidlit is dedicated to discussing the portrayal of disability in middle grade and young adult literature. We publish articles, reviews, interviews, and discussions examining this topic from various angles—and always from the disabled perspective.

[More details]
NCTE Awards

Each year NCTE celebrates more than 90 different awards across our various constituencies.

These awards shine a light on the exceptional work of our educators and students and offer myriad opportunities to recognize and elevate what makes the teaching and learning of English language arts so powerful.

[More details]
Where to Find Diverse Books

We Need Diverse Books has compiled the following list of sites that offer recommendations for diverse titles. Our list is not exhaustive, and we welcome suggestions of current, active sites that provide diverse book lists.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

UNCW Library Catalog Search Suggestions

These are suggestions and can be used with or without additional terms; searched by keyword or by subject:

  • Lesson planning
  • Education -- Standards
  • Language arts (Secondary)
  • Education -- Curricula
  • Education, Primary
  • Curriculum planning
  • Curriculum
  • Humanities -- Study and teaching
  • History -- Study and teaching
  • Science -- Study and teaching
  • Technology -- Study and teaching
  • Engineering -- Study and teaching
  • Arts -- Study and teaching
  • Mathematics -- Study And Teaching
  • Music -- Instruction and study -- United States
  • Creative writing (Elementary education)
  • Internet in education
  • Interdisciplinary approach in education
  • Cognitive learning

Recommended Curriculum Planning Databases

ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
SIRS Discoverer

SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology.

[More details]

Recommended Databases for Research in Children's or Young Adult Literature

Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
Literature Resource Center

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Literature Resource Center includes selected author biographies from Contemporary Authors Online, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (except documentary volumes), selected author biographies, work and topic overviews from Contempor

[More details]

Select Websites

Annenberg Learner

Advancing Excellent Teaching in American Schools Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.

[More details]
A to Z Teacher Stuff

A to Z Teacher Stuff is a teacher-created site designed to help teachers find online resources more quickly and easily. Find lesson plans, thematic units, teacher tips, discussion forums for teachers, downloadable teaching materials & eBooks, printable worksheets and blacklines, emergent reader books, themes, and more.

[More details]
Book Rags

BookRags was founded in 1999 by two recent college graduates interested in providing on-demand educational resources to students around the world. Launched with just 40 book notes, BookRags has expanded over the past seven years into one of the largest, most respected student education websites, with over 4 million unique pages of content. Our goal is to make BookRags a complete research location for students of any age. As our tagline says, "Research Anything." Enter any topic in our search box, and there's a good chance we'll have quality information on it.

[More details]
Crayola for Educators

This site is run by Crayola and offers coloring pages, craft ideas, lesson plans, various games, and much more.

[More details]
Carolina K-12

This searchable database currently includes lesson plans aligned to the NC Essential Standards, as well as activities for use in school, after school and extra-curricular settings. To ensure compatibility, files are available in PDF format. You must have Adobe Reader installed to access the materials, which is available for free at http://get.adobe.com/reader.

[More details]
DLTK's Educational Activities

DLTK's Crafts for Kids features a variety of fun, printable children's crafts, coloring pages and more including projects for holidays, educational themes and some of our children's favorite cartoon characters.

[More details]
edHelper.com

edHelper.com is dedicated to providing teachers a single shop for educational resources. The site features downloadable books and worksheets, monthly theme units, puzzle creators, foreign language units, and much more.

[More details]
eduScapes

This website was created by a husband and wife team with education backgrounds. On the site you will find information on high tech learning, distance learning, as well as many links to sites with K-12 lesson plans.

[More details]
Learning Network - New York Times

Whether you’re here for the first time or have been visiting our site regularly for the last 20 years, we invite you to take a look around. Every school day since 1998, we have offered fresh classroom resources — from lesson plans and writing prompts to news quizzes, student contests and more — all based on the articles, essays, photos, videos and graphics published on NYTimes.com. All of our features for students are free, and we hear from thousands of teenagers around the world each week.

[More details]
Lesson Plans Page

The Lesson Plans Page is a collection of over 3,000 lesson plans from Preschool through High School and beyond.

[More details]
Lesson Planz

LessonPlanz.com is searchable directory of free online lesson plans and lesson plan resources for all grades and subjects. Subjects include: literacy, math, social studies, science, the arts, and much more.

[More details]
Library of Congress Teacher Resources

Provides lesson plans, themed resources, primary source sets, presentations and activities, and collection connections.

[More details]
My First Book Club

To celebrate our twenty-fifth anniversary and our commitment to creating and nurturing lifelong readers, Candlewick Press is launching My First Book Club. This exciting new venture will showcase handpicked titles ideal for early readers alongside custom resources to help deepen children’s engagement with the books.

[More details]
National Archives and Records Administration

News from the National Archives as well as links to guides and finding aids for its collections.  A selection of historical documents and online exhibits is also available.

[More details]
National Council of Teachers of English

This site provides grant information, lesson plans, professional development resources, and much more. Plus it covers all grades from elementary to college level.

[More details]
National Gallery of Art - Lessons & Activities

Pre-K to College/University - Select a grade level range to find lesson plans for your classroom.

[More details]
NEH - Edsitement

EDSITEment is a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Trust for the Humanities.

EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

[More details]
PBS LearningMedia

UNC-TV and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.

[More details]
ReadWriteThink

Here at ReadWriteThink, our mission is to provide educators, parents, and afterschool professionals with access to the highest quality practices in reading and language arts instruction by offering the very best in free materials.

[More details]
Scholastic's Lesson Plans & Reproducibles

Lesson plans for grades K - 12. Many of these are internet based. Check out the language arts section for research skills lessons.

[More details]
Talk It Up! book groups for kids

Multnomah County Library - Portland Oregon. Included general questions for any book discussion, as well as customized for specfic titles such as Wrinkle in Time, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and more!

[More details]
The Classroom Bookshelf

At The Classroom Bookshelf, we strive to model week after week the many ways that teachers can consider texts of any genre for classroom use and instructional purposes. We believe that the best way to learn to read, advance as a reader, and learn content through reading is for teachers and children to make choices together; teachers know the students best, and can use a variety of texts to differentiate instruction and meet the needs of each student, whether they are advanced readers or reluctant, “right on” grade level, bilingual learners, or students with special needs.

[More details]

Video

KidLit TV

A trusted resource for parents, teachers, and librarians, KidLit TV is the place to discover great children’s books and connect with the people who create them.

KidLit TV is a winner of the Parents’ Choice Gold Award, the Norton Juster Award for Devotion to Literacy, and one of the American Library Association’s Great Websites For Kids. We’re a trusted resource for parents, teachers, and librarians!

[More details]
Storyline Online

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online, streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations. Readers include Viola Davis, Chris Pine, Lily Tomlin, Kevin Costner, Annette Bening, James Earl Jones, Betty White and dozens more. Storyline Online receives over 100 million views annually from children all over the world.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED