Library Guide for International Students

NOT PUBLISHED

How to Find Books

1. Look for a book in the library's main search. Go to the libary's home page (library.uncw.edu) and type in the name of the book, or the author, or the topics you'd like to find a book on:

 

2. If you see a book you'd like to check out, click on the title to find out more about it.

Be sure to check under "Status" to see if the book is currently on the shelf or checked out, and write down location (under "LOCATION") and the number under "CALL #." This is how you'll know where in the library to find the book.

 

3. Go find the location in the library, then find the book by call number.

The book above, like most of our books, is in the General Collection, which is upstairs. You'll then need to find where the books with call numbers starting in Q are.

How to Find Articles

General searching

Using the library's main search, the same as you did for books in the box above, is also a great way to find articles. Once you've hit the "Search" button, you can find journal articles in the "Scholarly Articles" section by clicking on "See all results" beneath it, where as popular articles will be under "News & Magazine Articles."
 

Subject-specific searching
Sometimes, it can also be helpful to use subject-specific databases. The subject librarians at Randall have created subject guides that list the best and most relevant databases for each subject. To find them, click on "Find Subject Guides" on the library homepage.

Essential Library Information

Welcome!
This guide is designed to help orient international students to Randall Library. Contents include instructions on how to find and access resources like books and articles, how to find things in the library in general, our policies and principles, and of course how to get help.

Finding things in the library: 

Floor Maps and Virtual Tour

You can watch the tour video to get an introduction to the entire library and its spaces, view the maps for the first and second floors, or find a specific area in the library on the floor maps using the drop down menu on the right.

[More details]
Library Spaces

This is where you can learn more about specific spaces in the library, and what you can do in each one.

[More details]

Library terminology:

Multilingual Glossary Language Table

For library terminology. Abstract? Citation? Subject heading? You can look up unfamiliar library terms and words here and find them translated into several different languages.

[More details]
Multilingual Glossary Definitions

For library terminology. A companion resource to the Language Table. This is where you'll find the definitions for all the terms translated in the Language Table.

[More details]

Library policies and frequently asked questions:

Randall Library Frequently Asked Questions

Want to know how many books you can check out? How long you can keep them? How to renew a book? What software is available on the library computers? It's all in this guide of frequently asked questions.

[More details]

Language Resources

Transparent Language Online

Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.

[More details]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

An essential database for foreign languages and literatures, the innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

[More details]

Database language limiters

Did you know that in most library databases and tools you can filter your search results to only get results in your preferred languages?

These filters--or limiters--can look different from search tool to search tool, but try looking for a section that says "LANGUAGES."

Select only the languages you want results in and then hit enter, and the database will limit results to those available in your chosen languages.

Contact Librarian

Eva
Sclippa
First Year Engagement Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1041
chat loading...

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.