Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Introduction to Literary Criticism of Poetry

This guide addresses the need for literary criticism for beginning literary critics. It provides resources for finding poems, for getting summaries, reviews, and criticism or explication of poetry.

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
For finding reviews and criticism.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
American Poetry

Over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.

[More details]
African-American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

[More details]
American Poetry (20th Century)

50,000 poems by American poets from the early 20th century to the present.

[More details]
African-American Poetry (20th Century)

Contains nearly 9,000 poems from African American poets of the 20th century.

[More details]
English Poetry

Over 160,000 English poems.

[More details]
English Poetry (20th Century)

600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets.

[More details]
Faber Poetry Library

Poets of the twentieth century.

[More details]
The Faber Poetry Library provides access to the works of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. It contains the works of many of the greatest poets currently read and studied.
Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
LitFinder

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

[More details]

Websites

Poets.org

Poets.org currently features biographies of more than 2,000 poets and more than 6,000 poems.

[More details]
Internet Poetry Archive

The archive makes available over a worldwide computer network selected poems from a number of contemporary poets. The goal of the project is to make poetry accessible to new audiences (at little or no cost) and to give teachers and students of poetry new ways of presenting and studying these poets and their texts.

[More details]
Representative Poetry Online

A web anthology of 4,800 poems in English and French by over 700 poets spanning 1400 years.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED