NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

To find a short story in Randall Library's catalog, select "author" and enter the name of the short story's author (last name first). Then look for a title that indicates a short story collection. It is difficult to find a short story by title in the catalog because they are usually published in collections and anthologies, but you can also try using quotes around the title of the story.

To search for criticism of a short story within a book, consult Randall Library's catalog, select "subject," and enter the name of the story's author (last name first). Then search for the subject heading subdivision "criticism and interpretation."

Literary Criticism of Short Stories

This guide addresses the need for literary criticism for beginning literary critics. It provides resources for finding short stories, for getting plot summaries, reviews and literary criticism or explication of short stories.

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
For finding reviews and literary criticism.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Provides full-text to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

[More details]
A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, and creative writing, among others.
Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Music, Philosophy and Religion, Theatre, Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED