Digital Makerspace

The Digital Makerspace offers access to emerging technologies for the UNCW community.  In addition to providing access, we also support digital media, software consultations, and workshops.
For any project—personal, professional, or academic—the Digital Makerspace can assist you.  We offer in person or online consultations, as well as online tutorials.  This guide includes tutorials to popular and commonly used programs for digital media projects.

 

3D Modelling: TinkerCAD

TinkerCAD is a free, browser-based 3D modelling software.  A perfect introduction to 3D Modelling, these videos cover tools, tips, and best practices for using this program.

 

This first video provides an introduction to TinkerCAD, inluding navigating and working with 3D objects by creating a custom keychain.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

This second video provides a more in-depth look at TinkerCAD and advanced modelling techniques by making a custom mug.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

Back to Top

Graphic Design: Adobe Illustrator

Need help getting started with Adobe Illustrator? This video goes over a brief introduction to Adobe Illustrator and using its tools.

 

This video provides an introduction to Adobe Illustrator's tools by creating a basic vector graphic of a pizza slice.

 
To view a step-by-step tutorial, click here.

 

Back to Top

Video Editing: Adobe Premiere Pro

These three videos cover an introduction to Adobe Premiere Pro.  Learn how to navigate, edit, and successfully save your video projects.

 

This tutorial provides an introduction to Adobe Premiere Pro by showing how to navigate around the software.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

This tutorial shows how to create a video, import media, and do basic editing using the Premiere Pro timeline.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

This tutorial shows how to add text and effects to a video, as well as saving your final project.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

Back to Top

Brochures and Booklets: Adobe InDesign

Adobe InDesign is best used for creating booklets, brochures, and multi-page documents.
 

This tutorial provides an introduction to Adobe InDesign by creating a brochure and inserting images and text.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

 

This tutorial shows how to create a booklet and use more in-depth features of InDesign such as grids, gradients, and master pages.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

Back to Top

Podcasting: Adobe Audition

Adobe Audition can record and edit audio for music production, podcasting, or narration.

 

This video tutorial provides instructions on recording and editing audio in Adobe Audition for a podcast, as well as saving the final audio file.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

 

Back to Top

App Development: Adobe XD

Adobe XD allows users to create web pages and mobile applications.

 

This first video provides an introduction to Adobe XD, including adding pages and content.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

 

This second video provides a more in-depth look at Adobe XD, guiding through creating navigation and saving applications.

To view a step-by-step PDF, click here.

Back to Top

Contact Us!

Alyssa
Wharton
Digital Makerspace Coordinator
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1029D

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: