Randall Library Home

Welcome to Randall Library!  This guide provides a selective list of library resources and free websites to aid in your literature review.  As you refine your specific topic, feel free to ask for assistance. 

NOT PUBLISHED
Course number: 
PLS 500

Searching the Library Catalog

Use the catalog to find books, government documents, videos and journals in the Randall Library collection.  

The catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings to tag items by subject. Using subject headings as an alternative to keyword searching can help focus and refine your searching, since the subject heading indicates the main purpose of the publication. You can usually start with a keyword search to discover appropriate subject headings, but you can also do a subject search by changing the dropdown menu to "subject."  Here are some that should be useful for this class:

Nonprofit organizations
Non-governmental organizations

Public administration
Administrative agencies
Local government
Civil service
Public officers

Management
Communication in management
Communication in public administration
Crisis management in government
Conflict management
Delegation of authority
Government accountability
Government productivity
Interagency coordination
Intergovernmental cooperation
Job enrichment
Management by objectives
Office practice in government
Organizational behavior
Organizational change
Organizational effectiveness
Organizational sociology
Personnel management
Planning
Project management
Total quality management in government

UNC School of Government

The School provides content and resources for a wide array of local government and judicial officials in North Carolina. Click on "Public Officials" to locate content relevant to specific roles.

[More details]

Databases

These databases will lead you to articles on the issues and processes of policy analysis. If the database does not provide the full-text of the article, it can be obtained through interlibrary loan. Note: The main search box on the library home page searches all of our databases simultaneously. For more focused and specialized searches in public policy, try these databases.

Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
Provides citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Political Science Database

Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. This database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

[More details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, law, public administration / policy, and public and international affairs.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database, so you may wish to use the advanced search to limit to law, management and organizational behavior, political science, and public policy and administration journals.
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
A rich resource for legal and legislative research. Includes full-text for 1200 law journals, US Congressional documents, including the Congressional Record and its predecessors, Code of Federal Regulations, US Code, etc.
News, legal and business resources. News sources include newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts and news-oriented blogs. US Legal provides law review articles and federal and state cases and statutes.

Statistics and Data

ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.  It does not take positions on policy issues.  Its work is carried out by these seven projects:  The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Global Attitudes Project, Social & Demographic Trends.

[More details]

Websites

National Charities Information Bureau

Descriptions of charities and how they use their funds. Also includes information on standards for charities.

[More details]
National Center for Charitable Statistics

A clearinghouse of data on fundraising by charities. Sponsored by the Urban Institute.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED