Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Quick Search for Marine Sciences

Recommended Databases

Web of Science - Core Collection

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

[More details]
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - (ASFA)

Premier database for literature on the marine science, technology & management of marine, freshwater, & brackish water environments & organisms.

[More details]
GeoRef

The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations.

[More details]
Oceanic Abstracts

Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.

[More details]
SciFinder

Premiere bibliographic and reference research tool for research in chemistry and marine sciences. SciFinder can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name.

[More details]
Zoological Record

Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1868, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. It is part of Web of Science.

[More details]
ReefBase

The world's premier online information system on coral reefs, and provides information services to coral reef professionals involved in management, research, monitoring, conservation and education. Also included is full-text to first through the tenth International Coral Reef Symposium (ICRS) Proceedings.

[More details]

Helpful Websites

CERN Document Server (CDS)

Searchable database with over 800,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. Available from CERN , the European Organization for Nuclear Research, the world's largest particle physics centre.

[More details]
E-Print Network

Searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal research communication for scientists and engineers.

[More details]
FishBase

Covers over 25,000 species of fish and has over 70,000 synonyms and 180,000 common names in over 200 languages. Over 35,000 pictures illustrate these fish. Information about them has been extracted from 20,000 references. The classification of higher taxa follows the version of Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes . Data includes family, order, class, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, biology, ecology, diet, reproduction, and references.

[More details]
National Sea Grant Library Database

This database includes 36,000 bibliographic records to various Sea Grant funded publications. Subjects include, oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law.
Print Version: 1986 - present

[More details]
NOAA Library Catalog

An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.

[More details]
TOXNET

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.

[More details]
WAVES

The catalogue of the libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, WAVES contains over 200,000 records, from 1700 to the present day. WAVES is particularly strong on the gray literature for the marine sciences, with emphasis on Canadian records, and other organizations like ICES, FAO, etc. Updated daily, the database contains records for books, documents, and serials, and includes links to over 5000 full-text documents. Available in English and French, Canada's two official languages.

[More details]
Information Resources on Marine Mammals

The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (link is external) (USDA) National Agricultural Library (link is external) (NAL) in Beltsville, Maryland. The Center was established in 1986 and is staffed by a two full-time and two part-time information specialists, and one information technology specialist.

[More details]
Coral Kingdom Photo Library

Photographs that will help you learn more about coral reefs.

[More details]
Coral Literature, Education & Outreach (CLEO) Gray Literature

Designed to provide easy access to gray literature and pre-1990's literature on the coral reef environments near the ICON/CREWS monitoring stations.

[More details]
General Facts about the Gulf of Mexico

Available from GulfBase, a project of the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, this webpage provides an overview of the Gulf of Mexico. Information about the Gulf's geography, depth, geologic history, circulation and currents, petroleum and fisheries, and references to relevant literature is included.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Peter
Fritzler
Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2060

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED