Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
MKT 443
Instructor: 
Altobelo

This guide is intended as a place to start. It is not exhaustive, but provides access to a wide variety of sources to assist with completing research assignments. Click on each of the categories below to see recommended sources of information. If you need further assistance please email your liaison librarian, Beth Kaylor.

Using the Library Catalog

eBooks

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started.

[More details]
Ebook Central

This resource contains scholarly eBook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction titles on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks for offline reading.

[More details]
Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]
Virtual Reference Library

Contains encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

[More details]

Government Resources

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

is from the U.S. Census Bureau and "is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."

[More details]
Bureau of the Census

serves "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

[More details]
Current Population Survey (CPS)

The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.

[More details]
American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
American Community Survey (ACS) - U.S. Census Bureau

The ACS is an ongoing survey that provides data every year, giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.  Information from the ACS generates data that help determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.  Includes information about: age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, disabilities, workplace and how one gets there, where one lives and how much one pays for essentials.

[More details]

Starting Points

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more.  Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]

Databases

Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]
US Newsstream

Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products; this source includes industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports, and more.

[More details]
IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]
SimplyAnalytics

Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.

[More details]
ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. The database includes access to information about more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. homeowners and movers. ReferenceUSA's quality information helps researchers, students and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions, and saves them valuable time and money.

[More details]
Psychology Database (ProQuest)

This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 psychology related titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
ProQuest Asian Business and Reference

ProQuest Asian Business and Reference name has been changed to: Asian & European Business Collection

[More details]
Proquest European Business

ProQuest Asian Business and Reference name has been changed to: Asian & European Business Collection

[More details]
Sociology Database

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, religion, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]

Statistics and Data

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]
ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
Data.gov

The official U.S. government website that provides increased public access to federal government datasets.

[More details]
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED