Medical Sociology

Below are some potential places to look as you do your COVID-19 research papers. In the lefthand column are some journals that you can browse to find articles. They might be a good place to start your research as you are trying to narrow down a topic. Below that are citation guides to APA and ASA format.

In the center are some article databases in sociology, psychology, health and medicine, and social work. Please note that the top link in this section is to something called SocArXiV, which is an open access archive containing what are called "preprints" - research that has not yet gone through the peer-review process. Because COVID-19 is so new, there may not yet be a huge quantity of published articles on the topic. So, if you are looking for articles specifically on COVID, SocArXiv is probably your best bet. More traditional published articles, by contrast, will contain good contextual or background information on social issues related to health and medicine.

If you are struggling to decide if an article you've chosen is a scholarly source, feel free to view the tutorial at the bottom of the center column.

Finally, if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to me - my contact information is at the top right. Best of luck with your research this semester.

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2021
Course number: 
SOC 337
Instructor: 
Smith, S. M.

Citation Guides

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue OWL guide for 7th edition APA formatting and citations. Includes example papers and citations.

[More details]
ASA Style Guide

Quick guide to citing in ASA format.

[More details]

Article Databases

These are some databases you could consider using as you search for articles on your topic. They include sociology and social science databases as well as a few in health and psychology. 

SocArXiv

SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.

[More details]
An open access preprint (i.e., not yet peer-reviewed) archive of social research. Your best bet for finding research that is specific to COVID-19.
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
A standard database for sociology research.
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
Database that contains articles in a variety of social sciences.
Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

[More details]
Database for social work and human services research.
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
The premier database for health and medical research.
APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
The standard database for psychology research.

How Do I Know if it's Scholarly?

Sociology Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Interim Associate Director of Research and Instructional Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.