Randall Library Home

Modern East Asia

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.

[More details]
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library

Houses one of the largest collections of more than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. 

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!

Some useful headings for your topic may include:

China – Foreign relations – [insert country here, e.g. United States, Japan]
China – Foreign relations -- History
China -- Military policy
Cold War -- Diplomatic history
Japan -- Foreign relations -- [insert country here, e.g. United States, China]
Japan -- Foreign relations -- History
Japan -- History -- 1945-
Japan -- Military policy
Korean War, 1961-1957
United States – Foreign relations – [insert country here, e.g. China, Japan, Korea]
Vietnam War, 1961-1975

Recommended Article Databases

These databases also contain other secondary sources such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more. 

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in public and international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 

[More details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, law, public administration / policy, and public and international affairs.

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
East & South Asia Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Credo Reference - East Asia

is a collection of reference articles related to East Asia.

[More details]

Datasets

Data.gov

The official U.S. government website that provides increased public access to federal government datasets.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]

Primary Sources

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
covers 1851- (last 3 years not available). Use to find newspaper articles with American perspectives on China.
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
covers 1785-2006. Fully searchable, including headlines, articles, editorials, announcements, images and advertisements. Use to find newspaper articles with British perspectives on China.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
indexes popular magazines, 1890-1982.
Cold War International History Project

Contains several collections related to Asia, including many translated and published Cold War documents. 

[More details]
contains several collections related to Asia, including many translated and published Cold War documents.
Rutgers Oral History Archives

Nearly 500 oral history interviews from Rutgers Alumni and New Jersey residents who served in World War II, Korea and Vietnam.

[More details]
Includes nearly 500 oral history interviews from Rutgers Alumni and New Jersey residents who served in World War II, Korea and Vietnam.
Vietnam Center and Archive (Texas Tech University)

Includes oral histories and source documents.

[More details]
includes oral histories and source documents.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
indexes scholarly periodicals, 1907-1984. Indexes journals, books, government documents, reports from 1915-1976. Scholarly materials can be primary sources when taken from the time period you are examining. They provide insights into what scholars were thinking at the time.
Frontline Diplomacy

Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training at the Library of Congress makes available interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST).  These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st.

[More details]
makes available interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST). These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st.
National Security Archive - The George Washington University

is a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, investigative journalism center, and more.

[More details]

Government Resources

Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
Contains law journals, Treaties & Agreements, Congressional documents, and other legal information. Use Full Text Advanced Search to see more options, including a custom date range search.
U.S. State Department - U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

From the State Department's Bureau of Public Affairs.

[More details]
Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin Digital Collections)

is a digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States, "an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed."

[More details]
Covers 1861-1960.
Foreign Relations of the United States

from the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

[More details]
Covers 1945-1980.
Public Papers of the Presidents

Online versions of the papers of Presidents from Ronald Reagan to the present. Print copies of presidential papers back to the Teddy Roosevelt administration are in the library's General Collection J82.

[More details]
CIA Library

Contains declassified documents, current publications, basic references, reports, and maps. Sections of interest include Historical Collection Publications and the Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. Coverage Dates: 1945 - 2002; updated annually
Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2072

Twitter: @shcrowe

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED