Randall Library Home

Click on these links for more information about the Department of Music or Instrumental Music.

Video Subscriptions

Met Opera On Demand

Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935

[More details]
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access."
Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus is an excellent resource that reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.

[More details]
A unique collection of opera and symphony performances from the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Opera House, Gran Teatre del Liceu and Glyndebourne.
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.
Docuseek2

Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videso can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.

[More details]
Documentary films of a variety of subjects including music from a variety of genres including folk, jazz, rock and opera.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Welcome to the Music Guide

Blue music staff

Recommended Databases

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the search box on this page for faster searching.
Fine Arts and Music Collection

Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Archive of selected scholarly journals including over 80 in music.
Rock's Backpages

Rock's Backpages is an archive of content about music and popular culture, a library of primary source, full text articles and audio interviews.

[More details]
Credo Reference - Performing Arts

Reference ebooks on the performing arts.

[More details]
It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Composer Diversity Database

A searchable and browsable database of more than 3,000 women composers that conductors, performers, educators, and researchers can use (along with a related “composers of color” database that is currently being built) to aid in their pursuit of more diverse performance programming and academic curricula.

[More details]

Music Indexes and Bibliographies

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

[More details]
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently over 600,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music.
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]
A subject-author index to music periodical literature. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
RISM

The International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is a cross country non-profit joint venture which aims at comprehensive documentation of the worldwide existing musical sources.  Musical sources are manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections

[More details]
"RISM" stands for Repertoire International des Sources Musicales. It's an ongoing scholarly project to catalog all the primary source materials, in libraries worldwide, relating to music. It gives detailed descriptions of music manuscripts, early printed editions of music, and early treatises on music.

Common Call Numbers for Browsing

Where to look in the library

While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep this in mind:

     M = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
     ML = books about music history and literature
     MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books)

 

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Oxford Music Online




Oxford Music Online 

Audio Subscriptions

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.

Naxos Music Library App Tutorial

 

 

 

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: