Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Instructor: 
Rack, John; Hickman, Joe; Johnson, Dan

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Websites

NC Standard Course of Study

Music is part of the Arts Eduction section.

[More details]
National Association for Music Education

Of particular interest is the collection of lesson plans on this website.

 

[More details]
Music EdVentures

One of the categories under articles is classroom management.

 

[More details]

Music Education: Learning Module on Classroom Management

This guide provides resources, terms and techniques to assist students completing the learning module on classroom management for licensure in Music Education.

Examples of teaching materials will be found in the Curriculum Materials Center in the Education Building.  For more information, click the link.

Databases

The key database for education literature is ERIC (linked below.) While you can use any keywords that describe the topic, using the terms  that ERIC uses to describe topics (called descriptors) can make a big difference in finding useful articles and other publications.  These terms can be identified using the ERIC Thesaurus, found on the search page in Eric (via U.S. Department of Education).

See the links to the Eric below.

  • MUSIC EDUCATION is a descriptor. 

For classroom mangement, consider searching:

  • CLASSROOM TECHNIQUES
  • CLASSROOM ENVIRONMENT
  • DISCIPLINE
  • STUDENT BEHAVIOR
  • TEACHER-STUDENT RELATIONSHIP

For misbehavior, consider searching:

  • BEHAVIOR PROBLEMS.  See the Thesarus for specific types of behavior problems.
  •  URBAN EDUCATION is a descriptor, but so is 
  • URBAN SCHOOLS 
  • URBAN TEACHING

For legal issues, consider searching:

  • EDUCATIONAL LEGISLATION
  • SCHOOL LAW
  • SCHOOL POLICY
  • STUDENT RIGHTS
  • TEACHER RIGHTS

For culturally responsive teaching, consider searching:

  • CULTURALLY RELEVANT EDUCATION
ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]

Using the Library Catalog

Just as the ERIC database uses a controlled vocabulary of search terms to improve the quality of your search, the library catalog (and the WorldCat database, a union catalog of over 9,000 libraries including Randall Library) uses Library of Congress Subject Headings to indicate the subjects covered by books, media and other cataloged resources. 

Instead of music education, subject heading to use are:

  • MUSIC -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • SCHOOL MUSIC -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • MUSIC IN EDUCATION
  • [Type of musical composition] -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY, e.g., INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • [Musical instrument] -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY, e.g., PIANO -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • [Musical groups] -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY, e.g., BANDS (MUSIC) -- INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • CLASSROOM MANAGEMENT  

Also consider searching:

  • CLASSROOM ENVIRONMENT
  • SCHOOL DISCIPLINE
  • TEACHER-STUDENT RELATIONSHIPS

For urban education or urban schools, use 

  • EDUCATION, URBAN.

For legal issues in education, use 

  • EDUCATIONAL LAW AND LEGISLATION.

For culturally responsive teaching, use:

  • MULTICULTURAL EDUCATION
  • EDUCATIONAL EQUALIZATION

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

If you wish to schedule research help, please feel free to email me or book a consultation here. Beth Thompson bookings.

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED