NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Instructor: 
Rack, John; Hickman, Joe; Johnson, Dan

Websites

NC Standard Course of Study

Music is part of the Arts Eduction section.

[More details]
Music is part of the Arts Education section
National Association for Music Education

Of particular interest is the collection of lesson plans on this website.

[More details]
Of particular interest is the collection of lesson plans on this website.

Music Education: Learning Module on Special Needs Students

This guide provides resources, terms and techniques to assist students completing the learning module on special needs students for licensure in music education.

Examples of teaching materials will be found in the Curriculum Materials Center in the Education Building.  For more information, see https://uncw.edu/cmc

Databases

Suggested Keywords for Searching

The key database for education literature is ERIC (linked below.) While you can use any keywords that describe the topic, using the terms that ERIC uses to describe topics (called descriptors) can make a big difference in finding useful articles and other publications.  These terms can be identified using the ERIC Thesaurus.  

Please note that in order to locate older articles published, scholarly research often requires searching with phrases or words that are now inappropriate, such as "mental retardation." 

General:

  • MUSIC EDUCATION
  • SPECIAL NEEDS STUDENTS 
  • The thesaurus provides a long list of related terms, among them DISABILITIES.  This term has many narrower terms associated with it, including 
    • MENTAL RETARDATION
    • INTELLECTUAL DISABILITY
    • SEVERE DISABILITIES. 
      • Narrower terms are listed under each of these, such as DOWN SYNDROME.  The indexers who assign terms tend to assign the most specific term for the article in hand, so you may need to search several synonyms. 
      • These can be combined using the OR command, e.g., MENTAL RETARDATION OR DOWN SYNDROME.

For legal issues, consider searching:

  • EDUCATIONAL LEGISLATION
  • SCHOOL LAW
  • SCHOOL POLICY
  • STUDENT RIGHTS
  • TEACHER RIGHTS

Combining appropriate legal terms with appropriate terms for special needs students using the AND command will provide more relevant articles, e.g.,

  • SPECIAL NEEDS STUDENTS AND SCHOOL LAW
ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]

Using the Library Catalog

Just as the ERIC database uses a controlled vocabulary of search terms to improve the quality of your search, the library catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings to indicate the subjects covered by books, media and other cataloged resources. 

Instead of music education, subject heading to use are:

Also consider searching:

Also consider searching specific disabilities,

For legal issues in education, use 

For culturally responsive teaching, use:

Lisa Coats

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Music, Philosophy and Religion, Theatre, Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.