- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Music Fundamentals
Subject:
Course number:
MUS 106
Health and Music Resources
American Music Therapy Association (AMTA)
The mission of the American Music Therapy Association is to advance public awareness of the benefits of music therapy and increase access to quality music therapy services in a rapidly changing world.
[More details]
Healing Arts Network, NHRMC
New Hanover Regional Medical Center (NHRMC) offers integrative therapies through the Healing Arts Network (HAN), a group of certified therapists who work with the medical teams to improve the quality of life of our patients.
[More details]
National Institutes of Health - Sound Health
This website provides information about the partnership between the NIH and JFK Center for the performing arts. Their partnership is dedicated to researching how the brain functions and interacts with music and sound. The website provides an overview of their research plan and current news.
[More details]Selected Books, eBooks, and Video
Perspectives in Performing Arts Medicine Practice: A Multidisciplinary Approach
Musical Explorations: Fundamentals Through ExperienceMT10 .J64 2005
Music Fundamentals: A Balanced Approach This is an eBook
The Norton Instruments of the OrchestraML1200.N67 2007
This is a DVD
Selected Journals
American Music
Journal of Popular Music StudiesSearch the Library Catalog
Where to look in the Library
While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep in mind that they are in Library of Congress call number system under these sections:
M = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
ML = books about music history and literature
MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books)
If you need more assistance with finding materials in Library of Congress system, this video may help:
Welcome to the Music Fundamentals Guide
Recommended Databases
Fine Arts and Music (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Archive of selected scholarly journals including over 100 in music and performing arts.
Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
[More details]For general, non-scholarly articles on a variety of music topics, try searching in the Oxford Music Online search box below OR in Credo Reference under the "Recommended Databases" section above.
Oxford Music Online
For general, non-scholarly articles on a variety of music topics, try searching in the Oxford Music Online search box below.
Video Subscriptions
Met Opera On Demand
[More details]
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access."
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework.
[More details]A unique collection of opera and symphony performances from the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Opera House, Gran Teatre del Liceu and Glyndebourne.
Films on Demand
This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
[More details]The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online
An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
[More details]A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.
Docuseek2
Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videso can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
[More details]Documentary films of a variety of subjects including music from a variety of genres including folk, jazz, rock and opera.
Audio Subscriptions
Randall Library -- Resource Type -- eAudio Collection
A complete list of the eAudio content available online through Randall Library at the University of North Carolina Wilmington.
[More details]
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
[More details]Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Music & Performing Art Search
Searchable database of audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
[More details]
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.
[More details]Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.
[More details]Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.
Useful Websites
Annenberg Learner - Exploring the World of Music
Video instructional series on music theory and music as a cultural study.
[More details]
In Tune Monthly Magazine
Digital magazine published monthly during the school year aimed at teaching middle/high school students introductory topics in music.
[More details]
Music Theory.net
Tools, exercises, and theory lessons provided both for free online and for purchase via apps.
[More details]
NPR All Songs Considered
A section of NPR's public media that features podcasts of interviews with musicians and releases of new music.
[More details]
Teoria.com
This website is "dedicated to the study and practice of music theory". It was "developed by José Rodríguez Alvira as a complement for his courses at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico".
[More details]Music Indexes and Bibliographies
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.
[More details]RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently over 600,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music.
Music Index
Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
[More details]A subject-author index to music periodical literature. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
RISM
You can search over 850,000 records, the majority of which are music manuscripts dating from before 1800. The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database. These institutions can often be approached for reproductions.
[More details]Eva Sclippa
Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL1041
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Writing About Music
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About MusicThis is available as a print book ( ML3797 .D76 2010) or eBook.
Irvine's Writing About MusicThis is available as a print book (ML3797.I79 1999) or eBook.
Writing About Music: A Style SheetML3797 .W75 2008
Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing About MusicWriting Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff.
ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill