- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Music Research
Subject:
Select Research Journals
Music Analysis A journal of music education research studies published by the Society for Research in Music Education of MENC: The National Association for Music Education.
Music & Letters
Journal of Music Theory
The Journal of Musicology
Music Theory SpectrumThe journal of the Society for Music Theory.
Symphony
Journal of Seventeenth-Century MusicPublished by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century.
Select Research Books and eBooks
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians ML100 .N48 2001
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World ML102.P66 C66 2003
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music (eBook)
The Harvard Dictionary of Music (eBook)
The Hutchinson Concise Dictionary of Music (eBook)Core information on composers and comprehensive works listings from the earliest exponents of polyphony to the present day.
Search the Library Catalog
Common Call Numbers for Browsing
Click below to view a list of common call numbers for each category.
Where to look in the library
While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep this in mind:
M = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
ML = books about music history and literature
MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books)
Welcome to the Music Research Page
Recommended Databases
Fine Arts and Music (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Archive of selected scholarly journals including over 80 in music.
Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. Includes 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
Victorian Popular Culture
An essential resource for the study of popular art, art history, and entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials.
[More details]The Victorian Popular Culture is an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Oxford Music Online
For general, non-scholarly articles on a variety of music topics, try searching in the Oxford Music Online search box below.
Music Indexes and Bibliographies
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.
[More details]RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently over 600,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music.
Music Index
Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
[More details]A subject-author index to music periodical literature. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
RISM
You can search over 850,000 records, the majority of which are music manuscripts dating from before 1800. The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database. These institutions can often be approached for reproductions.
[More details]Video Subscriptions
Met Opera On Demand
[More details]
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access."
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework.
[More details]A unique collection of opera and symphony performances from the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Opera House, Gran Teatre del Liceu and Glyndebourne.
Films on Demand
This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
[More details]The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online
An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
[More details]A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.
Docuseek2
Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videso can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
[More details]Documentary films of a variety of subjects including music from a variety of genres including folk, jazz, rock and opera.
World History in Video
World History in Video includes more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Videos are sourced from BBC, PBS and other sources, and document global history from earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
[More details]Performances and biographies on a number of musicians and groups. Look in the Music and performing arts channel.
Audio Subscriptions
Music & Performing Art Search
Searchable database of audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
[More details]Searching within Proquest's Alexander Street databases, Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.
[More details]Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.
[More details]Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
[More details]Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Online Music Research Resources
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
[More details]
International database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Dissertations themselves are not included.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
The world’s most comprehensive open network of digital resources for the study of music, currently available in beta.
This application is a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Originally compiled by Richard Parrillo, entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.
Music Theory Online
Open-access peer-reviewed electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines.
[More details]Music Theory Online is a journal of criticism, commentary, research and scholarship. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia (Library of Congress)
Search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources by subject, title, or name.
[More details]Search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources by subject, title, or name.
Yale Oral History of American Music
This guide which links you to Yale University Oral History of American Music collection highlights the voices of people of color represented in OHAM's oral histories, with a focus on African-American figures and music, as well as those whose work has been influenced by and/or shaped African American music from the early twentieth century through today.
[More details]MusicBrainz is an open music encyclopedia that collects music metadata and makes it available to the public.
Musicians Necrology 1991-2018 (Gaylord Music Library)
Bibliography from the Gaylord Music Library.
[More details]
The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives
The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives currently comprises more than 1.3 million pages, including almost 14,000 printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs from the New York Philharmonic Archives from 1842 through 1970.
[More details]
Books About Music Before 1800 (Library of Congress)
Resource for writings on music and music theory before 1800. Includes over 2000 digital scan entries.
[More details]
A Guide for Music Citation - M3s, Collected Editions of Composers
Guide detailing the Chicago/Turbian citation style within the field of music. Includes citation instruction for M3s, the collected editions of composers, as well as musical sources such as texts, scores, and recordings.
[More details]
A Guide for Music Citation - M2s, Monuments of Music Scores
Guide detailing the Chicago/Turbian citation style within the field of music. Includes citation instruction for musical sources such as texts, scores, and recordings.
[More details]Eva Sclippa
Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL1041
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Writing About Music
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About MusicThis is available as a print book ( ML3797 .D76 2010) or eBook.
Irvine's Writing About MusicThis is available as a print book (ML3797.I79 1999) or eBook.
Writing About Music: A Style SheetML3797 .W75 2008
Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing About Music
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff.
ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill