Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
ENG 210

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

To find books, eBooks, and other materials in the UNCW Library Catalog, search by keyword. For example, typing "mythology" AND "encyclopedia" in the keyword search box will retrieve various useful reference and background materials.

You can also search for a particular god, goddess or topic by using the keyword search. (e.g. Agamemnon, Antigone, etc.)

If you are looking for a specific book, you can select "title" from the menu and type in the exact title (e.g. Introduction to Mythology). There is a list of "Selected Books and eBooks" below that might be useful.

ENG 210: Mythology

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Oxford Journals

Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

[More details]
Loeb Classical Library

More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. An interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

[More details]

Helpful Websites

Encyclopedia Mythica

On the Encyclopedia Mythica site "...you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions..."

There is "an image gallery, where you will find hundreds of images of all kinds of deities, heroes, and strange creatures of every description.  The encyclopedia will serve the serious researcher, the student, and the casual reader with equal success."

~from the website

[More details]
Greek Mythology Link

"The Greek Mythology Link is primarily concerned with the creative, artistic, literary and inspiring aspects of the Greek myths."

~from the website

[More details]
Theoi Greek Mythology

The Theoi Greek Mythology site "...contains more than 1,500 pages profiling the Greek gods and other characters from Greek mythology and 1,200 full sized pictures."

~from the website

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, Women's and Gender Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED