NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

US Agencies

Bureau of Indian Affairs

The Bureau of Indian Affairs’ mission is to enhance the quality of life, to promote economic opportunity, and to carry out the responsibility to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians, Indian tribes and Alaska Natives.

[More details]
Bureau of Indian Education

As stated in Title 25 CFR Part 32.3, BIE’s mission is to provide quality education opportunities from early childhood through life in accordance with a tribe’s needs for cultural and economic well-being, in keeping with the wide diversity of Indian tribes and Alaska Native villages as distinct cultural and governmental entities. Further, the BIE is to manifest consideration of the whole person by taking into account the spiritual, mental, physical, and cultural aspects of the individual within his or her family and tribal or village context.

[More details]
U.S. Department of the Interior, Interior Library, Native Americans

A digital collection of government resources for and about Native Americans.

[More details]

Databases for Government Resources

ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
HathiTrust

Partnership of major research institutions and libraries that is a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

[More details]

Websites

Federally Recognized Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans

From USA.gov, this useful website provides information for and about resources for Native Americans.

[More details]
On November 16, 2020, the U.S. House of Representatives voted unanimously in favor of The Lumbee Recognition Act. This bill, if passed by the Senate, will provide full recognition of this group of Southeastern North Carolinians who have been fighting for recognition since the late 1800s.
Indian Arts and Crafts Board

The Indian Arts and Crafts Board (IACB) promotes the economic development of federally recognized American Indians and Alaska Natives (Indians) through the expansion of the Indian arts and crafts market.

[More details]
Indian Energy and Economic Development

Welcome to the Office of Indian Energy and Economic Development Web site. Here you will learn about the work our office is doing to help Indian communities gain economic self-sufficiency through the development of their energy and mineral resources, application of established business practices, and co-sponsorship of innovative training programs.

[More details]
National Parks Service American Indian Liaison Service

The American Indian Liaison Office (AILO) provides guidance to National Park Service (NPS) field and program managers to enable them to interact with American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives on a government-to-government basis. 

[More details]
National Parks Service Tribal Historic Preservation Program

Administered by the National Park Service (NPS), the program is dedicated to working with Indian tribes, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and national organizations, to preserve and protect resources and traditions that are of importance to Native Americans by strengthening their capabilities for operating sustainable preservation programs.

[More details]

Beth Kaylor

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

NC Government Resources

NC Tribal Communities

From the NC Department of Administration, this provides information about NC tribes and contact information.

[More details]
NC Commission of Indian Affairs

The North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs was created in 1971 by the North Carolina General Assembly in response to the requests of concerned Indian citizens from across the state. The Commission was established pursuant to North Carolina General Statutes 143B-404 through 143B-411. 

[More details]
Map of NC Tribal Communities

A map of tribal communities in NC.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.