Randall Library Home

Newspapers: Historical

NOT PUBLISHED

Individual Historical Newspapers

Some of the following newspapers are available on microfilm, in the microfilm area on second floor of the library. Some of these are also available in paper and/or in full text through an online database, although the dates covered may vary between formats.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
New York (global coverage), September 1851-(last three years not available)
Pennsylvania Gazette

Published in Philadelphia The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

[More details]
is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. Pennsylvania, January 1728 -Dec. 31, 1800
Stars and Stripes, 1918-1919

"From February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919, by order of General John J. Pershing, the United States Army published a newspaper for its forces in France, The Stars and Stripes. This online collection, presented by the Serial and Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress, includes the complete seventy-one-week run of the newspaper's World War I edition."

[More details]
France (published by the US military, February 1918-June 1919
Freedom's Journal

Freedom's Journal was the "first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. The Journal was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829. ... All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized and placed into Adobe Acrobat format."

[More details]
New York City, March 1827-March 1829
Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1902

Complete text of the Brooklyn, NY, newspaper, which chronicled national and international affairs as well as local news and daily life in Brooklyn. 1841-1902.

[More details]
Brooklyn, New York; October 1841-January 1955
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
London, 1785–2006

Newspaper Indexes in Randall Library

These are indexes of newspaper content - they do not contain the full text of the newspaper articles themselves.

Title
Dates Covered
Location
Barron's Index
1981-1996
UNCW Index Collection HG1 .W26
Christian Science Monitor Index
1960-69; 1970-78; 1979-1983
UNCW Index Collection AI21 .C462
The Chronicle of Higher Education 10-year Index
November 23, 1966 to August 16, 1976
UNCW Index Collection LA227.3 .C48
Morning Star (Wilmington, NC)--Index to the seventh volume)
Sept. 23, 1870-Mar. 22, 1871
UNCW Index Collection AI21.M67 R42 1995
New York Times Index
1851-2002
UNCW Index Collection AI21 .N45
News & Observer (Raleigh, NC) Index
1967-1973; 1975-1976
UNCW Index Collection AI21 .N53
North Carolina Newspapers Index
1784-1789
UNCW Reference F258 .W37 1992 
Personal Name Index to "The New York Times Index"
1851-1989
UNCW Index Collection AI21 .N46
Pravda Index
1987
UNCW Index Collection AI21.P73 P7
Semi-Weekly Messenger (Wilmington, NC) Index
1905-1906
UNCW Index Collection AI21.W55 R444 1989
The Times (London) Index
1785. Includes indexing of the predecessor of the Times, the Daily universal register, 1785-1787
UNCW Index Collection AI21 .T45
The Times (London) Index
1801-1925; 1940-1956; 1957-1972
UNCW Index Collection AI21 .T458
Virginia Gazette Index
1736-1780
UNCW Microfilm Guides AI21 .V5
Wall Street Journal Index
1970-current
UNCW Index Collection HG1 .W26
The Wilmington Messenger Index
June-December 1887; 1889
UNCW Index Collection AI21.W55 R44
The Early South Carolina Newspapers
1732-1736
UNCW Index Collection AN1.S6 C422

Databases and Collections of Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
US Newsstream

Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

[More details]
African American Newspapers, 19th century

This collection of African American newspapers contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

[More details]
18th Century Resources for Research: Periodicals

This directory of full-text online periodicals features magazines (including children's), newspapers, comics, pulp magazines, and other serial publications from the 18th century to the present. Lists publications from the alternative presses, religious and atheist organizations, the government and military, and more.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers in Washington

This project is part of Washington State Library's program to make its rare, historical resources more accessible. Search the growing collection by keyword or personal name, or browse by subjects such as industry, crime, pioneers, and religion.

[More details]
Utah Digital Newspapers

Eighteen historical digitized newspapers from Utah, mostly from the late 1800s to the early 1900s, with more than 130,000 pages of text. Browsable by newspaper title or county, or searchable by keyword. Within a specific newspaper, browse by issue date or search for births, marriages, deaths, article titles, and keywords.

[More details]
Accessible Archives

Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and in a comprehensive databases. Includes newspapers, periodicals and books such including African American Newspapers, The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass Paper, Douglass Monthly, Freedom's Journal, HISTORY OF WOMAN SUFFRAGE, The National Era, The North Star, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog, Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, The Pennsylvania Packet, Provincial Freeman, Scenes from the Life of Harriet Tubman, Twelve Years a Slave and Weekly Advocate.

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]

NC Historical Newspaper Databases

Digital NC - Newspapers

"The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill."

[More details]
North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project

Digitized newspapers from the North Carolina State Archives collection that were only available on microfilm. These materials include papers dating from 1751-1890s.

[More details]
North Carolina Newspaper Locator

The North Carolina Newspaper Locator database, reflecting the microfilm holdings of the Government & Heritage Library, contains listings for nearly 2,000 unique newspaper titles dating from 1751 to today. 

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]
Other History Research Guides

is a list of all the research gudes for history. 

[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]
Newspaper Databases

is a complete list of Randall Library newspaper databases.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2072

Twitter: @shcrowe

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED