North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

Created in 1877 and according to their website, "The NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services works to provide servcies that promote and improve agriculture, agribusiness and forests; protect consumers and businesses, and conserve farmland and natural resources for the prosperity of all North Carolinians." Working with North Carolina farmers, the Agriculture department "has a wide variety of programs and services to help farmers and landowners be more efficient, profitable and sustainable." It also offers programs and services that "help protect the environment and endangered plant species," along with ensuring food safety for consumers and promotes the abundance of different agricultural products that are grown in the state of North Carolina.  The department is also widely involved in helping to boost the state's booming agriculture business, where North Carolinians can tour farms of all sizes and shapes, and learn about farm products and production.

Agricultural Divisions

Soil and Water Conservation

Works to protect and improve soil and water resources throughout the state of North Carolina.

[More details]
Meat & Poultry Inspection Division

Works to enforce the meat and poultry/humane handling laws in the state of NC

[More details]
Food and Drug Protection

Works to protect NC citizens regarding food and drug safety

[More details]
Veterinary

Works to protect the health of the state's livestock and poultry population

[More details]
Farmland Preservation

Works to protect working family farms throughout the state

[More details]
NC Forest Service

"To ensure adequate and quality forest resources for the state to meet its present and future needs; contributing ~$34.9 billion annually to the state's economy and providing ~ 148,000 jobs for North Carolinians."

[More details]
NC Agricultural Finance Authority

Established by the NC General Assembly to provide credit, "originate, finance and service loans for persons operating family sized" farms in NC.

[More details]
Agricultural Statistics

"Brings together current and historic data relating to NC agriculture; the collection and dissemination of agricultural statistics began in 1863, one of the oldest activities of the USDA."

[More details]
Environmental Programs

"Environmental Programs advises the Commissioner of Agriculture, Chief Deputy Commissioner and Assistant Commissioner of Agriculture on environmental related issues associated with agriculture and agribusiness."

[More details]
NC State Fair

Typically held every October since 1853, the fair exhibits many North Carolina agricultural products at the state fairgrounds in Raleigh, NC.

[More details]
NC Research Stations

18 Research stations across the state to "manage crop and livestock facilities that serve as a platform for agricultural research to make farming more efficient, productive and profitable...."

[More details]
Plant Industry Division

"To ensure seed and fertilizer and other soil additives offered for sale in NC meet prescribed standards....and to protect the state's agriculture and natural environment from introduced pests" and non-native species.

[More details]
Small and Minority Farm Program

"Provides services to small, limited-resource and minority farmers who are traditionally under served, provided through outreach and education...."

[More details]

Agricultural Programs

Farm to School Program

Providing NC schools with locally grown NC produce

[More details]
Got to Be NC

Find locally produced products/produce and recipes-all from NC

[More details]
NC Farmers Markets

Searchable list of statewide farmers markets

[More details]
Certified Roadside Farm Markets

Promoting "North Carolina roadside markets that sell produce grown by the operator and other local farms..."

[More details]
North Carolina Farm Fresh

"A Directory of Pick-Your-Own farms, roadside farm markets, and farmers markets throughout NC."

[More details]
Measurement Section Standards Division

"Inspects weighing and measuring devices for accuracy (scales, gas pump dispensers, etc.) and performs inspections of packaged goods."

[More details]
Hunt NC Farmland

"A free service to connect farmers who want to offer hunt leases, to hunters who want them."

[More details]
NC Specialty Foods Catalog

All kinds of foods, baked goods, nuts, coffees, candies, sauces, wines, etc. all produced in North Carolina!

[More details]
NC Equine Directory

A directory for horse breeders and listings for equine boarding facilities within the state.

[More details]
NC Livestock Marketing

Works to "assist NC producers with development and implementation of marketing avenues for beef/dairy cattle, swine, sheep and goats;" also "develop, coordinate, and manage the livestock shows at the NC State Fair."

[More details]
NC Seafood Directory

Alphabetical listing of seafood restaurants/providers throughout the state. Can also search by keyword.

[More details]
Organic Farming in NC

Find organic farms in NC, learn about cost share among organic farms, and many other links to learn more about organic farming in NC.

[More details]
Agronomic Services-Soil Testing

Provides soil sample testing for NC residents; for most months out of the year, (except Thanksgiving through March, $4 fee charged), it is a free service.  

[More details]
NC Fresh Link

"Welcome to ncfreshlink.com your home for the finest North Carolina grown produce. Looking for fruits, vegetables, herbs or organic produce? Well, look no further.

[More details]
NC Herb Directory

"NC growers produce a wide variety of herbal products; herbal plants, medicinal herbs, seeds, roots, bulbs, culinary herbs, aromatics and many other products are available...."

[More details]
NC Growers Assistance and Information Network (GAIN)

Assists many poultry and pork producers in the state who are under contract with major companies to raise animals.

[More details]

Agricultural Services

The NC Agricultural Department provides NC citizens assistance regarding farms, businesses, and homeowner services.

Cooperative Grading Service

"Offers voluntary inspection of fresh fruits and vegetables, peanuts, tree nuts, specialty and ornamental crops, to ensure conformity or nonconformity to US and other grades or contract specifications."

[More details]
Plant Protection Services

Plant protection specialists conduct inspections and plant pathologists coordinate regulatory activities pertaining to plant diseases for citizens of NC.

[More details]
Plant Tissue Analysis

Analysts can determine if "plants contain the concentrations of essential nutrients necessary for optimum growth."

[More details]
Seed and Fertilization Services

Provides "laboratory testing for regulatory and service samples that are submitted by NCDA&CS field staff, producers, seed dealers, university researchers, and consumers."

[More details]
Surface Water/Ground Water Analysis

Monitors "surface-water and groundwater quality for such varied agricultural purposes as irrigation, fertilization (nutrient solutions), livestock and poultry production, pesticide preparation, pond management and aquaculture."

[More details]
Aquaculture Services

"Aquaculture is the business of farming aquatic plants and animals. In North Carolina, farmers grow trout, catfish, hybrid striped bass, prawn, crawfish, ornamental fish, baitfish, clams and oysters."

[More details]
Agribusiness Development

Assistance in planning a new or existing agribusiness related program.

[More details]
Business Startup & Resource Guide

Starting a Business in North Carolina guide

[More details]
NC Cooperative Extension Office (by County)

Agricultural related assistance by county

[More details]
NC Animal Welfare Act

The NC Animal Welfare Act of 1977.

[More details]
NC Veterinary Medical Association

The NCVMA "is dedicated to promoting integrity and excellence in veterinary medicine....and serving as an advocate and voice for veterinary medicine in the state."

[More details]

Contact Information

Elisabeth
Garner
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.