Summary

The North Carolina General Assembly, or GA as it is often referred to, consists of two main bodies or houses. These include the Senate with 50 members, and the House of Represenatives, consisting of 120 members. Each legislator represents either a Senatorial District or a House District.  Beginning in January of each odd-numbered year, regular sessions of the GA will meet.  They then adjourn and reconvene the following even-numbered year, to hold a shorter session.

The actual laws of North Carolina are known as the General Statutes and are made by members of the GA, who meet in their respective chambers on Monday evenings.  Additionally, they meet during the day on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, returning to their respective home districts on weekends to tend to personal business and meet with constituents.

The presiding officer of the Senate is actually the Lieutenant Governor of the State, and the presiding officer of the House of Representatives is known as the Speaker, who is elected from the members of the House. A President Pro Tempore is elected by members of the Senate, who, along with the Speaker of the House, will appoint members to serve on standing committees of each of the two respective bodies of the GA. (The House and the Senate). 

There are more than a dozen or so committees in each body of the GA, and every bill that is introduced in either the House or the Senate, will be reviewed by at least one standing committee in the Senate and in the House of Representatives.  Each legislator will serve on several different committees. During the week, different committee meetings are held in the mornings and afternoon, where much of the legislative work is discussed and debated.

Lastly, both the Senate and the House have a "Sergeant at Arms" who acts as a "police officer."  The Sergeant at Arms has assistants who act as "doorkeepers" while members of the House and Senate are meeting to discuss legislation.

Source: ncleg.gov/Help/Topic/232

North Carolina General Assembly

North Carolina General Assembly

Use this web site as a tool to track bills, find and communicate with your state House and Senate members, and to follow chamber activity, meetings and issues before the General Assembly.

[More details]
North Carolina General Statutes

Provides access to the North Carolina General Statutes, or laws of the state, current through July 2020.

[More details]
North Carolina Manual

Access to the NC Manual from 1874-2012; informing the citizens of NC about what our state government/state agencies do and who makes the decisions that affect our daily lives. 

[More details]
NC Session Laws 1959-Present

Available through the North Carolina General Assembly site.

[More details]
NC Session Laws 1777-2018

Available from the North Carolina State Government Publications Collection site.

[More details]
NC State Government Publications Collection

Find full text current and historic publications produced by North Carolina state government. The collection includes publications on a wide variety of topics including health care, agriculture, transportation, and education. Some of the files in this collection are very large and may take several minutes to load.

[More details]
NC Bills & Laws

Use this link to look up bills by number or search by text, with many other options to search for bills dating back to the 1985-1986 session.

[More details]
NC State Constitution

Includes the Preamble and Table of Contents, available in PDF or HTML formats.

[More details]
NC Legislative Library

Primarily aimed to assist GA members, their staffs and legislative committees, this site does provide additional help with researching NC laws, bills and statutes.

[More details]
Redistricting

This link provides information regarding redistricting at both the North Carolina state and federal levels.

[More details]

North Carolina House of Representatives

North Carolina House of Representatives

The 120 members of the House of Representatives serve a two-year term. The speaker of the House, elected by House members also serves a two-year term, and his main duties include keeping order during meetings of the House, and appointing members to various committees.

[More details]
NC House Journals 2001-present

Access to these journals are provided through the North Carolina General Assembly site.

[More details]
NC House Journals 1822-2017

Access to these journals are provided through the North Carolina State Government Publications Collection site.

[More details]
NC House Standing Committees

Access to a list of current standing committees in the NC House of Representatives.  Meeting agendas are available for viewing, by date.

[More details]
Find Your NC State Representative

Provides member lists, contact information, how to find your representative, representation by county, plus much, much more.

[More details]

North Carolina Senate

North Carolina Senate

The Senate consists of 50 members who serve a term of two years. The Lieutenant Governor is President of the Senate and presides over the daily session. The Lieutenant Governor is elected by the citizens of North Carolina for a four-year term and has no vote in the Senate except to break a tie. The Senate elects officers from their membership including the President Pro Tempore

[More details]
All 50 members of the Senate also serve a term of two years. The Lieutenant Governor of the State of North Carolina is the President of the Senate, and presides over each daily session. The citizens of the state elect the Lieutenant Governor to serve a 4-year term who has no vote in the Senate, except when there is a tie.
NC Senate Journals 2001-Present

Access to these journals are provided through the North Carolina General Assembly site.

[More details]
NC Senate Journals 1822-2017

Access to these journals are provided through the North Carolina State Government Publications Collection site.

[More details]
NC Senate Standing Committees

Access to a list of standing committees in the NC Senate.  Meeting agendas are available for viewing, by date.

[More details]
Find Your NC State Senator

Provides access to member lists, represenation by county, how to find your senator, plus much, much more.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Elisabeth Garner

Elisabeth
Garner
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062