- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
North Carolina in Global Trade
Search the Library Catalog
When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books.
Some useful headings for your topic may include:
- Commerce -- North Carolina
- [names of trading companies], e.g., East India Company
- [product] industry, e.g., Textile industry, Aircraft Industry
- Exports – North Carolina – Statistics
- North Carolina – Commerce -- Statistics
Statistics
Business Market Research Collection
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
[More details]
Business and Economy (Census Bureau)
Resource for number, characteristics, and locations of businesses in the U.S provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. Information reported monthly.
[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Resource for labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity statistics in the United States. Agency historically has used data collection to inform public and private economic practices and policies.
[More details]
NetAdvantage (from S&P Global)
Resouce provides industry, company, and investment analyses including S&P Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research). Website also contains a “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc.
[More details]
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.
[More details]
Statistics of U.S. Business
U.S. Census Bureau. A free online resource for statistical business information.
[More details]
UN Comtrade Database
Provides free access to detailed global trade data. Collection of International Trade Statistics Yearbooks from 1992-2019.
[More details]Other Websites
IMF International Monetary Fund
Organization of 190 countries working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
[More details]
World Trade Organization Documents & Resources
World Trade Organization Documents & Resources
[More details]Especially the statistics section.
North Carolina District Export Council
NC DEC contributes its leadership and international trade expertise to complement the U.S. Commercial Service's export promotion efforts by counseling businesses on the exporting process and conducting trade education.
[More details]Suggested Databases
These databases allow you to search for scholarly, news, and trade publication articles, as well as business and industry information. Be aware that it can be difficult to find information on private companies--they are not required to report the same information as public companies. If you need help with research in general and historical research specifically, contact our History Librarian first. If you need help with in-depth business research, such as industry & product codes, market information, etc. feel free to contact our Business Librarian.
ABI/INFORM Collection
The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.
[More details]
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]
EconLit
EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. This database contains more than one million records, with citations and abstracts dating back to 1886. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
[More details]Searches journal articles, books, etc. related to economics.
IBISWorld
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.
[More details]
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products; this source includes industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports, and more.
[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)
The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
[More details]
ScienceDirect
Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.
[More details]
Mergent Online
Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.
[More details]Global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information. Use to get information about companies that manufacture & distribute the product you are researching. You can search by NAICS & SIC codes. Limited to 5 users at a time.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Government Resources
State Exports for North Carolina
Lists the top 25 exports for NC, including HS code, dollar value, and % share.
[More details]
North Carolina Department of Commerce
The state's lead agency for economic, community, and workforce development.
[More details]Note the section on International Trade. Contact information is under "About Us".
North Carolina World Trade Association
Resource provides information on the NCWTA and its subsequent state board and regional chapters.
[More details]
NC Department of the Secretary of State Corporations Division
Website provides information about NC businesses, corporations, and nonprofit organizations.
[More details]
North Carolina State Ports Authority
Website provides information about NC ports and their capabilities. Includes information on news & events, improvements being made, tariffs & pricing, and more.
[More details]
State Archives of North Carolina
Preserves and provides access to historically significant archival materials relating to North Carolina. It has both physical and digital collections
[More details]
North Carolina State Library
An important source for current and historic government documents and NC related collections, in both print and digital forms.
[More details]
North Carolina General Assembly
Use this web site as a tool to track bills, find and communicate with your state House and Senate members, and to follow chamber activity, meetings and issues before the General Assembly.
[More details]
Department of Commerce
Federal department which promotes job creation and economic growth by ensuring fair trade, providing the data necessary to support commerce and constitutional democracy, and fostering innovation by setting standards and conducting foundational research and development.
[More details]
USA Trade Online
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields. Use USA Trade Online to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, and perform other market research tasks.
[More details]
Bureau of the Census
Homepage for the United States Census Bureau. Provides information on population research, programs and surveys, and census careers.
[More details]Census.gov › Business & Industry › Foreign Trade › U.S. International Trade Data > NC data
GovInfo
Resource provides public access to official publications from the three branches of the U.S. Federal Government.
[More details]Other Primary Source Databases
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]
Documenting the American South
Resource providing documents, images, and audio files related to the history, literature, and culture of the American South.
[More details]A digital collection at UNC-Chapel Hill. Contains images, oral histories, etc. Likely to be especially useful for the tobacco and textile industries.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.
[More details]Indexes approximately 250 popular English-language (primarily US) periodicals from 1890-1984.
US Newsstream
Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
chat loading...
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]