Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

NCpedia

NCpedia is an online encyclopedia about North Carolina.  As of November 1, 2014, NCpedia included 6,819 entries and 7,077 images

[More details]
Includes links to information that students of all ages request about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
State Data Center

North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.

[More details]
The North Carolina State Data Center (SDC) is a consortium of state and local agencies that provides information and date about the State and its component geographic areas. The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings. Recently a public health section was added which includes a link to the North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics. There is also a link to the North Carolina Statistical Register.
North Carolina Official Website

Official website for the state of North Carolina.

[More details]
NC @ Your Service is the NC Government portal, and provides comprehensive and online services for citizens, businesses, and state employees of North Carolina.

Databases

Sanborn Maps GeoEdition

ProQuest Information and Learning's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections.

[More details]
Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provides digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom-in on specific sections, and compare maps from different years.

Websites

Bills from NC General Assembly

Links for Bill Look-Up and Full Text Search of bills from 1997 to present; Session Law/Chaptered Bill Search; Tips for Finding Bills; Simple Bill Inquiry; and much more legislation information.

[More details]
Economic Development Information System (EDIS)

Includes profiles of counties and industries in North Carolina. Provides a searchable database of available industrial properties, and comparisons between states for multiple indicators such as population, taxes, infrastructure, and labor force.

[More details]
Government Employee Telephone Directory

NC State Capital Area Telephone Directory online. A searchable alphabetical listing, plus the departmental directory are included.

[More details]
NC Health Info

Offers access to free web sites of local health services, providers, and programs serving residents of North Carolina.

[More details]
NC Health Info allows people to search for web sites of local health services across the state of North Carolina. Covering topics from Alzheimer's Disease to yoga, NC Health Info serves to connect people to health services (health care providers, support groups, wellness programs, etc.) in their local community. Through integrated links with MedlinePlus, a comprehensive consumer health web site from the National Library of Medicine, users can also access quality, up to date information on over 600 health conditions and diseases as well as wellness topics, drug information, and more. Visitors to NC Health Info may suggest additional health resources to add to the site.
NC Public Schools Statistical Profile

NC Public Schools Statistical Profile contains a collection of statistical information about North Carolina's elementary and secondary schools.

[More details]
Selected statistical data from the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction on students, personnel and finances. Provides breakdowns by school system and in some appropriate cases by age (grade), race, and gender.
North Carolina Agricultural Statistics Service

Provides statistical information in table, map, and graph format on farm animals, crops, cash receipts, and weather. Comparisons between North Carolina counties and with agricultural products in other states are available.

[More details]
North Carolina Curriculum

Included are specific Department of Public Instruction goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina. The look-up service provides a convenient way for teachers, administrators, and parents to verify the instructional objectives of the Standard Course of Study at a given grade by subject area.

[More details]
North Carolina Driver's Manual

Includes the full text of the current Department of Motor Vehicles driver's manual in English and Spanish, pictures of road signs, and the Newcomers Guide to Motoring in North Carolina.

[More details]
North Carolina ECHO

Exploring North Carolina's Cultural Heritage Online

[More details]
Online access to the special collections of North Carolina's libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and other cultural institutions.
North Carolina Education Directory

Contains addresses and phone numbers of every North Carolina public, federal or charter school and public school system, all employees of the Department of Public Instruction, contact information for education organizations, associations, North Carolina commissions, and educational material suppliers.

[More details]
North Carolina State Publications

Created and maintained by the State Library of North Carolina this digital collection contains current and historical North Carolina state publications. Includes informational brochures and pamphlets, various reports (annual, biennial, technical, statistical, etc.), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines, etc.), handbooks, studies, and a variety of other information resources produced by North Carolina state government. 2002 - current

[More details]
North Carolina Tax Forms

Includes downloadable versions of current North Carolina individual and corporate income, franchise, sales, and withholding tax forms. Includes current cost and depreciation schedules. Forms may also be ordered on-line.

[More details]
State Center for Health Statistics (SCHC)

SCHS is responsible for data collection and research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. They have published a wide variety of reports in the past and are in the process of adding them to their Web site. Currently included are several compilations of mortality statistics (including one devoted to cancer), the "North Carolina Pocket Guide" of health statistics, "Vital Facts about Life in North Carolina", and a start toward providing pregnancy and birth statistics.

[More details]
State Demographics

The State Demographics unit provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex. The annual estimates of the population of North Carolina counties and municipalities are used in the distribution of state shared revenues to local governments. County and state population projections, available by age, race (white/other) and sex, are used for long range planning.

[More details]
Teaching Positions in North Carolina

This page contains links to all the information needed to apply for a job in North Carolina's improving public schools, including information about licensure, national board certification, application forms, and local job fairs.

[More details]
Uniform Crime Reports

Law enforcement agencies report the number of offenses and associated crime data for the following Part 1 crimes: murder and non-negligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, larceny, motor vehicle theft and arson. Part 1 offenses, excluding negligent manslaughter and arson, are used to calculate the Crime Index and Crime Rate. All other offenses are classified as Part 2 offenses, however, only arrest data are reported for Part 2 offenses. The UCR Program collects data on the age, race and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.