Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Sources for Statistics and Data

National League for Nursing - Nursing Education Statistics and Data

Data about applications, admissions, enrollment, retention, and graduation rates; a comprehensive demographic profile of the current student population documenting ethnic-racial identity, gender, and age.

[More details]
The U.S. Nursing Workforce: Trends in Supply and Education - Oct 2013

This report presents data on the supply, distribution, and education/pipeline of the U.S. nursing workforce.

[More details]
OECD Health Data

International Health Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

[More details]
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data & Statistics

Data, statistics, and other tools and resources from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

[More details]
Research at Health and Human Services Operating Divisions

Tools and data from the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions for scientists, researchers, and the general public.

[More details]
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Research Tools and Data

Research Findings, Data and Statistical Tools, Reports and Publications from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]

Some Practical Resources

Best Practice Guidelines from the Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario

There are currently 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation.

[More details]

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

ProQuest Search Widget and Recommended Databases Below.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
A collection of full text nursing & allied health journals. Full text for more than 770 journals dating back to 1937.
Nursing @ Ovid

Ovid Nursing database includes full-text content from current journals through  Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, combined with a Nursing subset of MEDLINE.

[More details]
UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, peer reviewed, clinical decision support tool. Contains the equivalent of over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text; allows access answers to clinical questions quickly and easily; written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to synthesize all relevant information, including the latest evidence, and provide specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment; combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

[More details]
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers. Includes: Evidence Summaries, Evidence–Based Recommended Practices, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports.

[More details]
Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Databases included are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).

[More details]
R2 Library

Rittenhouse Book Distributors Inc. offers access to ebooks covering the subjects of Nursing, Medicine and Allied Health. Randall Library has purchased access to over 94 of the 150 titles in the R2 Library. There is also an A-Z Topic index and an A-Z Drug index in the database.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet.

[More details]
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)

Provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
Health and Wellness Resource Center

Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. It provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Searching for Articles with a Specific Methodology

Are you looking for articles that focus on a specific research methodology, such as a Randomized Control Trial or a Systematic Review?  Here's a video to help:

https://www.screencast.com/t/IV7GK9J0Cb

 

Suggested Books, Readings, and Videos

Nursing Education in Video

Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. This current release includes 420 videos.

[More details]
Nursing Assessment in Video

Training videos from Medcom Trainex.  Each title features leading industry experts providing hands-on demonstrations and step-by-step instructions in key assessment areas. All content was produced since 2012, so the collection delivers accurate, up-to-date information.

[More details]

To Contact Your Librarian:

John
Osinski
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2059

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED