Sources for Statistics and Data

OECD Health Data

International Health Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

[More details]
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data & Statistics

Data, statistics, and other tools and resources from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

[More details]
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.

[More details]
Research at Health and Human Services Operating Divisions

Tools and data from the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions for scientists, researchers, and the general public.

[More details]
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Research

Research findings, data and statistical tools, reports and publications from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

[More details]
State Health Facts

Health Data for states compiled by the Kaiser Family Foundation.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]
Registered Nurses - Bureau of Labor Statistics

Career information including education requirements, median pay, and job outlook.

[More details]
National League for Nursing - Nursing Education Statistics and Data

Data about applications, admissions, enrollment, retention, and graduation rates; a comprehensive demographic profile of the current student population documenting ethnic-racial identity, gender, and age.

[More details]

Anatomy and Physiology Tools

Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas

Includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures— developed by medically trained medical illustrators and vetted by leading anatomists—covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.

[More details]
Visible Body Muscle Premium

Allows users to learn about muscles, their attachments, and their actions. Includes 3D versions of 20+ common pathologies, including sciatica, rotator cuff tear, shin splints, and more.

[More details]
Visible Body Physiology Animations

A comprehensive collection of nearly 70 high quality videos that illustrate and animate the core physiological processes of the human body.

[More details]

Useful References

Nursing Reference Center

Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more. 

[More details]
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

[More details]
Excelsior College Online Writing Lab

Online citation guide to APA style. Includes 6th and 7th edition material.

[More details]
The Guide to Community Preventative Services

The Community Guide is a website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

This box searches ProQuest Nursing and Health Science Databases

Additional Research Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
A collection of full text nursing & allied health journals. Full text for more than 770 journals dating back to 1937.
Ovid Medline

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 27 million references to journal articles. More than 5,200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including clinical medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers – biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science.

[More details]
Ovid Emcare

Ovid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health.

[More details]
- Over 3,700 international journals indexed and with no embargoes. - Includes Evidence Based Medicine. - Nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995 - Up to 250,000 record citations added each year - Comprehensive scope of international content: 50% of journals from North America, 40% from Europe; 10% from other regions; 9% of all records reference non-English articles, though most have English-language abstracts - 70% of records contain online abstracts
UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, peer reviewed, clinical decision support tool. Contains the equivalent of over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text; allows access answers to clinical questions quickly and easily; written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to synthesize all relevant information, including the latest evidence, and provide specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment; combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

[More details]
Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

[More details]
R2 Library

Rittenhouse Book Distributors Inc. offers access to ebooks covering the subjects of Nursing, Medicine and Allied Health. Randall Library has purchased access to over 94 of the 150 titles in the R2 Library. There is also an A-Z Topic index and an A-Z Drug index in the database.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet.

[More details]
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. How to access full text

[More details]
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)

This database offers comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine and more. Sources include journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and related fields. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
This collection of databases delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.
Health and Wellness (Gale)

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

[More details]
ECRI Guidelines Trust

Publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content.  This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.

[More details]

Nursing Video Tutorials

Nursing Video Tutorials

Video tutorials for the databases on this page, as well as tips for researching.

[More details]

Resources for Nursing Faculty

Navigating the Academic Publishing Landscape

Not sure where to send your article?  Questions about copyright, open access, predatory publishers?  This one-stop-shopping resource will help guide you through the decision making process.

[More details]

Having Trouble With Your PICO Search?

Are you having trouble formulating, or getting results for your PICO search?  You might find the Ovid Search Builder Tool helpful:

https://www.screencast.com/t/Bn7gypIuquf

 

 

Suggested Books, Readings, and Videos

Nursing Education in Video

Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. This current release includes 420 videos.

[More details]
Nursing Assessment in Video

Training videos from Medcom Trainex.  Each title features leading industry experts providing hands-on demonstrations and step-by-step instructions in key assessment areas. All content was produced since 2012, so the collection delivers accurate, up-to-date information.

[More details]
Nursing and Mental Health in Video

Features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.

[More details]

Some Practical Resources

Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC)

A testing and education preparation resource that includes in-depth information on college, graduate, and professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests alongside practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams.

[More details]
NCLEX and other nursing practice tests. Click on this link, type Nursing in the search box in the upper right corner, choose your resource and simply follow the directions.
Best Practice Guidelines from the Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario

Sixty published guidelines to help professional nurses and students keep up with best practices.

[More details]

Just Because

Not necessarily school related, but you might find interesting.

TED Talk - Tribute to Nurses

TED Talk - Tribute to Nurses

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian:

Portrait of John Osinski
John
Osinski
Nursing Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2059

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

NOT PUBLISHED