Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Welcome to the Oboe Page

For more information, please see the​ Department of Music home page.

Databases

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research.

Websites

Oboe Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for oboe repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for oboe related sources.

[More details]
International Double Reed Society

Worldwide organization of double reed (oboe and bassoon family) players, instrument manufacturers and enthusiasts.

[More details]
Woodwind Ensemble Reference Guide

Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for woodwind repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for woodwind related sources.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Using the Library Catalog

Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing:

M65-M69 Oboe alone
M245-M246 Oboe with piano accompaniment
M288-M289 Duets-- with another wind instrument
M290-M291 Duets-- with a string instrument
M296-M297 Duets-- oboe with guitar, harp
M1022 Concertos with orchestra
M1023 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1122 Concertos with string orchestra
M1123 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML940 Books about the oboe
MT362-MT365 Studies and methods for oboe
MT366 Orchestral excerpts