Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

North Carolina Maps

The North Carolina Maps project now contains over 3,000 different maps. The maps range in date from 1584 to 2000 and include multiple maps for each of North Carolina's 100 counties. In addition to viewing map images, users can also visit the "Interactive" section of the site and compare historic maps with current street maps and satellite images.

[More details]
The North Carolina Maps project now contains over 3,000 different maps. The maps range in date from 1584 to 2000 and include multiple maps for each of North Carolina's 100 counties. In addition to viewing map images, users can also visit the "Interactive" section of the site and compare historic maps with current street maps and satellite images.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Aerial Photography

Microsoft TerraServer

Microsoft TerraServer

[More details]

Atlases on the Web

Colorful Landform Atlas of the United States

Colorful Landform Atlas of the United States

[More details]
National Atlas of the United States

National Atlas of the United States

[More details]

Create Custom Maps

Batch Geocode

Generates x/y coordinate data for anywhere in the world from spreadsheet location data (i.e. street addresses)--these points will then be put on a map for you to link to or the program will create a KML file for use in Google Earth.

[More details]
National Geographic Xpeditions

Provides a way for you to print and customize maps of anything in the world at a variety of different scales.

[More details]

Distance

Federal Map Resources

Bureau of Land Management

Bureau of Land Management

[More details]
American Memory Project

Includes images & video from American history, from 1400-present.

[More details]
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

[More details]
National Park Service

National Park Service

[More details]
U.S. Forest Service

U.S. Forest Service

[More details]
U.S. Geological Survey

The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.

[More details]

Geographic Name

Geographic Name Information Services (GNIS)

Geographic Name Information Services (GNIS)

[More details]

Online Maps

Blank and Outline Maps

Blank and Outline Maps

[More details]
CIA World Factbook

The U.S. Central Intelligence Agency provides country profiles and country comparison data.

[More details]
political maps of the world
David Rumsey Map Collection

High quality map images, with emphasis on 19th and 20th century North and South America.

[More details]
an excellent source for 18th and 19th century maps from all over the world, particularly in the Americas
Geography and Map Divison, Library Congress

Geography and Map Divison, Library of Congress

[More details]
Microsoft Expedia Maps

Microsoft Expedia Maps

[More details]
Maps from Newsbank

Maps from Newsbank

[More details]
Bing Maps/Directions

Bing Maps/Directions

[More details]
Railroad Survey Maps

A collection of early manuscript railroad survey maps from the North Carolina State Archives. The maps are from five volumes showing the proposed route of the North Carolina Railroad, compiled in 1850 and 1851. These detailed, color maps show the entire route of the railroad along with the names of adjacent property owners and are sure to be a fantastic resource for genealogists, historians, and railroad owners alike.

[More details]
UC Atlas of Global Inequality

UC Atlas of Global Inequality

[More details]
University of Alabama's Online Maps

University of Alabama's Online Maps

[More details]
USGS Global Visualization Viewer

for satellite images from all over the world

 

[More details]

Virtual Globe Applications

ArcGIS Online

ESRI's answer to Google Earth and NASA World Wind

[More details]
Google Earth

Google Earth allows you to look at many layers of excellent satellite and aerial photography as well as view and build KML files

[More details]
Google Earth Community

Google Earth Community 

[More details]

Weather

National Weather Service Forecast Office: Wilmington, NC

National Weather Service Forecast Office: Wilmington, NC

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Databases

American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
when you "Get Detailed Data" there is an option for creating a map out of this data, from the 1990 and 2000 Census
Sanborn Maps GeoEdition

ProQuest Information and Learning's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections.

[More details]
These detailed, full-color images provide an impressive amount of detail, showing streets and buildings from North Carolina cities and towns from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. There are 116 different towns -- from 67 counties -- represented in the collection. The online collection contains every Sanborn map from the North Carolina Collection published prior to 1923, a total of 3890 different sheets.

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.